We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Restaurant

Nick's Restaurant
162 Chorley Old Road, Bolton BL1 3BA, England
+44 (0)1204 849774
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 278 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been to Nick's several times now and both service and quality have been completely consistent. - Excellent! Nothing is too much trouble. It is a restaurant NOT a bistro or brasserie therefore people that complain about price are not being fair. Fresh ingredients, great meat and fish with excellent presentation. Great for couples for a special occasion, or a small party for a fun dinner. Staff have been there for a long time, remember you and what you like. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    43
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Dinner with friends on 27/4/13. Very underwhelming and service didn't live up to the prices on the menu and neither did the food. Catalogue of errors on the order eg bacon on top of goats cheese starter for our vegetarian friend, uncooked tasteless fish on a main course had to be sent back, one sardine on a piece of bread for starter at a cost of £7.50!! and a megre dolop of ice cream with the slab of carrot cake.

The bill worked out to be £260 for 3 couples and we didn't all have 3 courses and some of the party weren't drinking.

All in all we felt that a restaurant on the outskirts of Bolton charging Manchester prices needed to substantially up its game on service, more experienced staff, quality of food and tasteless decor (chipped chairs at every table).

Needless to say we will not be recommending Nick's to our family and friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

went to chequerbent nicks with the wife we both had the 40 day matured steak which was prepared to perfection,served by superb staff and washed down with superb wine a superb night at nicks,,,,superb..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday/anniversary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fantastic night at Nicks in Bolton. It was our first time - but the friends we were celebrating with were repeat returners. The food and wine were fantastic. We sat upstairs (11 of us in total) and the atmosphere was perfect. I would recommend the filet steak. First time I've had steak for a while - but it was cooked to perfection. All in all perfect night, excellent food and wine :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, but on the expensive side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went with family on a friday evening, and even though the restraunt was full, service was excellent.

The menu choice is very good, something for everyone, and the specials board even bigger. There is also an early bird menu which again has plenty of choice.. There is no childrens muen but they do offer smaller portions on the main menu and it is very accomadationg

My only complaint, an it is minor, is that its a little on the pricey side. £30 for a t bone steak on the specials menu is definatly at the top end of the scale

But to be fair food is excellent. I wiould definatly go again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Nick's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.