We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zari

Zari
214 Ifield Drive, Ifield, Crawley RH11 0DQ, England
01293 525 107
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 172 Restaurants in Crawley
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My first visit with the guys from work. Delicious food great atmosphere , lovely friendly staff. See you soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    44
    16
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a night out should be for a lovely Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As soon as you walk in you are greeted with a lovely smile, they take your coat and hang it up for you, pull your chair out and lay a napkin on your lap. If you choose wine they will pour it from the bottle for you. The food is absolutely gorgeous and cooked to perfection, you can see them cook through the glass if you wish. The decor is beautiful, when you leave they even open the door for you. The prices are similar to most restaurants but the service is second to none. Tuesday is a good night as they do a Banquet meal which is 3 courses for about £11.99, the dishes are not as big but you get enough. If you go out for a meal about every couple of months and I mean a nice meal, you definitely know you have been somewhere nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food was dialyses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

one of the best restaurant we have had a meals in a long time. The service was impeccable. the food excellent. The lamb shank was fabulous is very tasty . We also enjoyed a bottle of champagne , sparkling water, the total bill came to around...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
1 review
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First time visiting Zari. The interior/decor was very nice and clean. Staff were very friendly and clearly knew the menu. The food was absolutely amazing - amongst the best Indian I have ever eaten!
Would be very happy to eat here again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not what it was !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I dined at Zari yesterday evening. It was meant to be a New Year treat for us. We hadn't dined there for a while so we looked forward to our return visit.

On arrival, we were very surprised to see that the Asian staff had all been replaced by East Europeans !

The staff were friendly and efficient.

We ordered drinks and starters. We tried to order 1 main course to share and 4 side dishes as we wanted to leave room for desserts. The waiter told us that it was their policy that at least 1 main course should be ordered per person. We have never in our lives heard of that rule in any restaurant before.

So we ordered 2 main courses and we didn't have any room for dessert. Therefore Zari didn't gain any monetary benefit from us. They would have gained more if we had been allowed to order 1 main course, 4 side dishes and 2 desserts. And we would have ordered more drinks to go with our desserts.

Presumably, we would have been allowed to order 2 main dishes and no side dishes? That would have worked out less expensive than what we did order. We do not understand their strange policy at all.

The food that we had was very good.

As an aside.....A few minutes after we had been seated a couple of adults and their young son arrived at the next table. They proceeded to play a very noisy game of cards ! This carried on until their food arrived and they took the game up again in between courses. We have never seen anyone playing cards in a restaurant of Zari's calibre.

None of the staff asked them to keep the noise down.

Sadly, our evening was not what we had hoped it would be. We won't be rushing back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zari also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Zari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.