We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Alternative to London City Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road)

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road)
London Rd, Crawley RH10 9ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 hotels in Crawley
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice Alternative to London City Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend in mid-November 2013. We flew into London Gatwick and the Hotel was well priced and placed as an alternative to staying in the city if you are flying in and out of Gatwick. There are many Premier Inns in the area and I couldn't tell you which one is any better than another. This is the third Premier Inn I have stayed in and the first in the UK (others in Dubai) and it seems they are all pretty much the same. Reasonable standards, well priced and the restaurants have good food. Most of the other reviews are on the money with a comfy room, middle of the road amenities and a good price point. I did like this particular property because it had more of a feel of a country manor (at least on the outside) than a cookie cutter hotel. The dinner and breakfast were of very good quality and portions large. We used Bus G6 from the Bus terminal in the South Terminal Que #9. It is 3 Pounds per person per trip. It took about 10 minutes from the S. Terminal to the Hotel. If you are flying or needing to leave at noon you will not have a bus run at this time so you will need to catch a Taxi and it is 8-10 Pounds per Taxi. The alternative is Bus 100 which is in front of the hotel but I have no idea the frequency that it runs of the price per person.

If you are doing a weekend in London and only want/need to go into the city once then staying here and using the Gatwick Express (about 20 Pounds per person per way) is a good option. If we would have needed to go into the city more than this, then staying at a hotel in the city is probably more economical. However, we were very satisfied and would come back and stay at this hotel. The staff, from the restaurant to the lobby were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Room in a wing of the hotel with fewer guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased to hear you found our hotel comfortable and good value for money.

The bus service to and from the airport is changing slightly in the next few days. It will now be i7/i8 service still from Stand 9 at the airport. The new service will run more frequently (approx. every 35 mins) and will run slightly later into the day with the last bus leaving our hotel at 10.14am. The evening i8 bus service begins at 4.55pm and again runs approximately every 35 minutes through to just after midnight. The service will still be £3 per person.

It is good to hear you would like to return to our hotel and especially pleasing that you found our staff very friendly.

We all hope you had a safe onward flight and that we are able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    238
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
199
291
43
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is convenient for the south terminal Gatwick being only 5/10min car journey to the south terminal car park at 5.30am. The room/facilities are good and what I have come to expect of Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased to hear you found our hotel convenient for the airport. We hope you will continue to enjoy staying with us at Premier Inn in the future.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed the night before a long flight to Mauritius. Usual Premier Inn standards, lovely comfortable beds, clean smelling room and bathroom. Good facilities. The restaurant attached (across the forecourt) is of high standards, the staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast were of good standard and thoroughly enjoyable. Good definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It was great to hear you enjoyed your pre-holiday stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments about the Gatwick Manor restaurant to their staff too.

We all hope you had a wonderful holiday in Mauritius and that we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here the night before early morning flight to Spain. Got a surprisingly good deal by booking well in advance. Hotel is the usual Premier Type. Large comfortable room . Staff knowledgeable & helpful. Early morning call was spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so pleased to hear you found our hotel comfortable and good value for money. It is also particularly pleasing to hear you found our staff so helpful. They all work very hard so it is great to see them get some recognition for their efforts.

We all hope you had a lovely time in Spain and that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake Iowa USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here the night before flying out of Gatwick. We took a train from London and a shuttle bus from the station to the hotel. The hotel is out in the country and has a nice feel to it. The room is clean and the bed and pillows very comfortable. Our room looked out to the garden area. We ate at the restaurant next door and it was our favorite meal of our time in London. Great fish and chips and Bangers and Mash. The hotel is close to the airport. You can take a shuttle or taxi there. The young lady at the front desk arranged a taxi for us and also let us look up and print off our boarding passes. We will stay here again when flying out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is pleasing to know you found your room clean and comfortable. We are also pleased you found the hotel in a good location and that transport to and from the airport was efficient.

Thank you for your kind words concerning your meal at our neighbouring restaurant. I will pass on your compliments to the Manager over there.

We hope you had a safe and smooth onward journey and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed in this hotel before our flight to the USA from Gatwick airport.
It is our third stay here and just like the previous two an extremely pleasant experience.
The rooms as usual where clean and tidy and although the breakfast are not top notch they certainly fill a little hole.
A great located hotel for Gatwick south terminal and we will stay here again should we travel from Gatwick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed another nice stay with us. We all hope you had a great time in the USA and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel from Gatwick.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here overnight rather than travelling down to Gatwick very early for a Trans Atlantic flight. It is an ideal location for Gatwick South Terminal. The room was clean and spacious and the self service buffet style hot breakfast was ample and filling. There was plenty of cereals, juice, toast and a full English cooked breakfast. A good nights sleep was had by all and we arrived at Gatwick airport feeling refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. Our guests feeling refreshed and relaxed for the day ahead is exactly what we aim to achieve so it is wonderful to hear this.

We hope your onward journey was a smooth one and that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road)

Address: London Rd, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
#8 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.