We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedgehog Inn

Hedgehog Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hedgehog Inn
Save
You added Hedgehog Inn to your Saves list
Effingham Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Crawley B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a hotel close to Lingfield Race course for a night at the races and this place is ideal as its ten minutes down the road (£12 in a taxi). Having changed our hotel choice twice from the two Copthornes down the road we were extremely glad we did. This B&B is a pleasant pub with nice comfy rooms, extremely friendly staff particularly the owners, with a great breakfast. We ate lunch here too, and were not disappointed. Nice choices at a decent price and a lovely garden out back to eat it in. It's ten minutes from Three Bridges train station and a half hour journey by train into London. We would definitely recommend this place and would come back again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed one night on a business trip, and I couldn't fault anything about the experience. It's a lovely country pub/hotel with bags of character, the rooms are very smart and the staff are great. The pub/restaurant served great food and drink and was the venue for a very enjoyable evening.

A gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I feel very sad writing this review as our First visit was so lovely.
This was our second visit to this hotel, as the first visit was so nice we thought we would return.
Was given room 6 this time, although a larger room we were a little disappointed, the bathroom was quite small and smelled quite musty with a very tatty bathroom mirror.
There seemed to be splashes of coffee or tea all run down the wall on the stair area.
We were basically in the room in the loft with dorma windows that were open and with only opaque covering which meant it was light very early in the room, although that really didnt really make a lot of difference as it was so noisy with the dorma windows open . ( I couldn't reach them to close them !)
The headboard was also very lose so that each time you turned it banged against the wall... Sorted that by stuffing a pillow behind it .. Lol
Eat in the restaurant and again was a little disapointed as the glasses were so cloudy you couldn't see through them.
My food wasnt as nice as i had had there before, Burger which was quite plain with oven chips..the giant onion rings were delightful though... I did have to ask for the red onion relish which should have come with my food.and there was plenty if salad.
Hubby had the homemade pork and apple pie which he said was very nice although I have to say their Blueberry ice cream was the best icecream I have ever tasted... But to be honest that was about it .. The rest of the trio of deserts looked better then they tasted... Sorry !.
Breakfast was fine, had to ask for butter to go with our lovely chunky fresh bread toast though.
Feel quite sad really as our first visit was so lovely and we really like that part of the country to visit.
Staff seemed a little thin in the ground although very smiley and cheerful ..
Overall was not the nice relaxing night away that I wanted....originally asked for a room or the following night to extend our stay, but, after the first night when offered a room to stay on we really had to decline although a different room was offered.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in room 6, the noise level is horrendous along with no blinds or curtians on the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We came acroos the Hedgehog Inn on a Saturday night drive out, was fairly busy but easily given a table. Seated quickly with drinks order taken straight away. Nobody came back to take our food order until we caught the waitresses eye and food took quite a long time to arrive, about 30 minutes. Hubby happy with his pork chop but my chicken was dry, wrong choice possibly as came exactly as described stuffed with roquefort and wrapped in salami but badly needed a sauce. Vegetables on the side good though, freshly cooked and good choice. Overall a reasonably priced, pleasant experience, we would try again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was our second stay as an overnight stop before visiting Hever Castle. Again excellent service, excellent food in the restaurant and excelllent breakfast and very resonable. After evening meal had a walk up the local country lane watched loads of rabbits playing around, horses in fields all came up to have a stroke.

Very realxing, good cask ales only negative is the traffic on the road can be noisy, but there are ear plugs in room in needed so they think of everything

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 if you are concerned about peole upstairs as no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orba, Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We found this little hotel through Tripadvisor as we needed a stopover before flying back to Spain. We arrived quite late but were checked in quickly. Our room was charming and there were 2 very welcome bottles of water sitting there waiting for us. The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The only problem we had was very noisy people in the room above us, who we found out afterwards were setting off early for their holidays from the airport. They came into the hotel at 2.00 a.m. and walked around constantly on the floor above us. The floorboards were very creaky as it is an older hotel. They then settled and we managed to get some sleep until just after 6.00 a.m. when they started walking around again for a while. Then it went quiet and they started again at 7.00 a.m. until just before 8.00 a.m. when they must have gone for their breakfast. They arrived back again just after 8.00 a.m. and then it went quiet. Not the restful night I was hoping for!!! We are likely to use this hotel quite a lot as we often fly back to the UK to visit relatives, but I will not book a ground floor room if there are people in the room above us. The hotel sits in pretty countryside and the menu looks very good, but we had already eaten when we got there. The breakfast was fantastic and it was very plentiful with a cooked breakfast included in the price. Very reasonable price for the room including breakfast. The managers were very friendly and helpful. I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I had to fly out of Gatwick early so we needed a place to stay that was close. The HedgeHog did not disappoint. We got there a little bit late after a really long day of touristy stuff and they were so kind. Our room was adorable and really nice. There were bottles of water on the nightstand and cookies and hot chocolate with the usual tea and coffee. We were a little hungry so we had the cheese plate at the restaurant and it was yummy. I am really particular about bathrooms and this room had the nicest one I saw during my stay in England. They were up early to accommodate our early departure time and will make you a hot breakfast if you have time or there is yogurt, fruit and toast.

Overall, we could not have been happier with our stay. Thank you!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedgehog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Inn

Address: Effingham Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hotel Crawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedgehog Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.