We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Restaurant

Sultan Restaurant
55 High Street, Crawley RH10 1BQ, England
01293521521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 172 Restaurants in Crawley
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A good local addition. Good value food and great service! We've been three times since it opened and enjoyed it every time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    6
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will be back soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor I discovered this little Turkish restaurant in Crawley. I admit it fully deserves its high rating! The place is rather small and it has an open kitchen and a stone oven, so you can observe the chef preparing your food in bursting flames. Before I ordered my food I got a complimentary starter - Turkish bread, 2 dips (yogurt & garlic and another red one) and marinated olives. In menu you will mainly find all forms of lamb, some chicken dishes and also limited vegetarian options. I went for a lamb (surprise, surprise) and didn't regret it at all - the portion was big and delicious! At the end I got a small desert (also complimentary) – nice touch! I will be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good service and very tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A very good experience. Lovely food and good service. Very friendly, smart young man at the door. Hope they double his wages. He's great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had read good reviews about this restaurant so I was really curious and I have to say that I wasn't disappointed. We visited on a Thursday night without booking and I believe we got the last table available. Lucky! Even thought it was really busy, the staff was quick and also very attentive. We got free special bread and dips before ordering and also free sweets and fruit at the end of the meal. We shared different dishes so we could try a bit of everything and they were pretty tasty! My boyfriend also got a complimentary beer! We will definately go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was invited to join some friends for dinner. One of our group had been to this restaurant before and highly recommended it and I was most pleasantly surprised at the quality (and quantity) of the food. The staff were very attentive but not 'over the top'. I can highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of service, food and value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Restaurant also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Sultan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.