We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Barbecue and Bar

Real Barbecue and Bar
1 Peterhouse Parade | Pound Hill, Crawley, England
+44 1293 453222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 187 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $15 - $53
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having seen the good reviews on trip advisor I went here on a Wednesday night for a meal with my girlfriend. I am glad to say that the other reviews did not lead me astray - this place is a gem!

We opted for the set menu, which cost £14.95 each. What followed was a seemlessly endless supply of delicious, freshly prepared Turkish food. Hot and cold meze to start, grilled lamb and chicken, with potatoes, rice and salad for mains, followed by pastries for desert, then coffee with turkish delight.

Not only was the food abundant and delicious, the guy who runs the place is really friendly and attentive as well.

This place is perfect if you want each great value, delicious food in an un-pretentious setting. I will definately be returning some time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Found this place via Trip Advisor as we were staying in the area waiting for an early flight. Friendly service from the owner’s daughters and clean, comfortable seating. At first we thought the service a little slow, then realised the food was being prepared, cooked and served from scratch. It was well worth the wait, some of the tastiest Turkish food we have eaten. I am glad we do not live too close, our waistlines couldn’t stand it. There is a takeaway side for the lucky locals but they don’t deliver to the Isle of Wight.

We will be back one day.

Thanks.

Andy and Sue

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic freshly prepared food with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have often used the take-away part of the restaurant which is very good, but yesterday tried the restaurant for the first time,as we had a friend over from the States.
The menu was amazing and the food was excellent- served fresh and such good quality real Turkish food. The service was also excellent- we were served by the owners daughter who was lovely. A genuine family run restaurant.
Thoroughly recommend everyone to try it.
Di W.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yet again a perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We first visited this restaurant in May the evening before flying out on a holiday from Gatwick. We chose it after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and at the time it was number 1. We were so impressed with the experience that we have been looking for excuses to travel the 160 miles to visit there again. Our second visit was as perfect as the first, a warm welcome from the owner and his family who remembered us from the last visit and as for the food - where do we start!
We learnt our lesson last time and made sure we didn't eat much throughout the day as the meal size is very generous and the complimentary dishes fill any little gaps which are left. The starters we ordered were the calamari and falafel, both were cooked perfectly, the squid was tender with nice crispy batter and the falafel - crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. These came accompanied with home made bread and dips which were all yummy and devoured quickly! As for the main course, although there is a large and varied menu, we chose exactly the same meals we had on our last visit as they were both exquisite. The veg moussaka was an array of perfectly cooked vegetables smothered in a beautiful cheese sauce and the other meal - a mixed grill - a large plateful of flavoursome bbq delights, well cooked yet succulent. We had a good bottle of Turkish red wine and we tried one of their house cocktails - Marmaris Beach - which I can certainly recommend. We just managed to leave enough room for a dessert, a beautifully sweet baklava served with ice cream. All this for under £50.00, a absolute bargain! If you're in the area, you'd be a absolute fool to miss this place, definately the best Turkish restaurant in the Gatwick area. I'm in the area on business in the next week or so and am going to try a dish or two from their takeaway menu. If it's as good as the restaurant, we will be happy happy people!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb turkish food and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Amazing restaurant you feel like you are in the Mediterranean once inside. Staff are so welcoming and huge selection of proper turkish food at brilliant prices. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Barbecue and Bar also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Real Barbecue and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Barbecue and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.