We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfy bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Gatwick Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Gatwick Airport to your Saves list
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd | County Oak, Crawley RH10 9GY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfy bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel as I have stayed in a few hotels near Gatwick in the past and this was by far the best. It was helped by the fact that everything was new. the bed was very comfy and had a good mattress and topper for extra comfort also the pillows were very good.

The showers in most of these places are usually very small but not this one the whole room was very well designed and as quiet as anything considering how close it is to the airport. The two guys that did the transfers were very pleasant and most helpful ( they went out of their way to be). Very satisfied and would definitely use it again as long as the price doesn't rise drastically.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    577
    226
    77
    40
See reviews for
205
534
229
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a standard Ibis hotel. In other words it is clean efficient and well run as you would expect. The location is good for Gatwick airport, but there is not nothing much of interest in the vicinity. There is a bar that serves standard bar type food. It is fine if you have a car, but otherwise not easy to reach. There is an attached car park, but the upper deck is inaccessible if you have anything but the smallest car. We arrived at about 8pm after driving from home and were staying for a night prior to catching a flight. It is absolutely fine for that purpose. The pricing is very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

..when we got there, we were told we didn't have a room. This was despite phoning about half hour beforehand to check whether the shuttle bus was still running (it wasn't)and being told they had our booking. After spending £13 in a cab we arrived at getting on for one in the morning to be told we didn't have a room even though I booked and paid for it a couple of weeks in advance. We were put up in a very nice hotel and got a free breakfast and cabs there and back to the airport in the morning, but it was gone two before we got into our room and the point of booking the Ibis was that we didn't want a nice hotel and breakfast, we wanted to go to sleep. It was not really explained why our room had been given to someone else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis London Gatwick Airport, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
A full investigation is on going on why your room was not kept properly.Sometimes some rooms are not given to the public for Health and safety reasons so we hope to be able to find out what went wrong for this particular day.

We apologize again for the experience encountered and can assure you that it does not reflect the normal high standards of service we provide.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis London Gatwick Airport and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to the airport. A well equipped room, great shower and comfortable bed. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Restaurant menu is 'limited' but good value for money. Their is a shuttle bus to the airport terminals. We booked and paid a couple of months in advance and got a GREAT price. Will definitely use this hotel as gain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband & I stayed here overnight prior to our 10am flight to Barbados. This was by far the best value for money hotel we have ever used in Gatwick. Ok so the room wasn't huge but it was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast choice was extensive. They even booked our bus to the airport in the morning. For £27 (plus breakfast) it couldn't be beaten and it only took about 15 mins to get to the South Terminal. We would certainly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed overnight before an early flight.Took the public bus to the hotel from the airport.
The hotel room was clean and the bed was comfortable.We. did not eat at the hotel so cannot
review the food.
We took the hotel shuttle to the airport the next morning which was very handy. This
Hotel provided what we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What can I say? The hotels is OK.

With the cost of Hotels being what they are around Gatwick, this one is somewhere in the middle of the budget brands. It has a bar and restaurant area in the lobby, which feels a little plastic and from what we heard of the comments from people eating around us (we didn't eat there) the food was a little plastic too.

We felt that charging extra for overnight parking at a hotel that is obviously designed as a Motel style of place is a little frustrating, and we felt that this should be made a little more clear at point of booking. However it was only £5 so its not that bad.

The rooms are OK. The bed is perfectly adequate with a little toilet / shower cubical in the room (sort of a pod affair that looks like it wasn't part of the original design) and works well.

Basically you get what you pay for, and this hotel is good value for money. Just don't expect anything other than a bed for the night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I took note on your comments regarding our Food and Beverage and will pass it on to the relvant department for future improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Emmanuelle Jugon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Gatwick Airport

Address: London Rd | County Oak, Crawley RH10 9GY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Crawley
#13 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Gatwick Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis London Gatwick Airport is ideally located less than 5 min from all terminals (private shuttle from 5 a.m. to 11.30 p.m. on request), M23 (Jct 10), links to M25, A23 and A217, walking distance from the Manor Royal industrial estate (training centre,Oxford Aviation Academy, Virgin Atlantic base), 30 min by train from London (Gatwick Express), and 45 min from St Pancras international station. All rooms offer ensuite with shower, high speed internet, pay TV, airport parking (long and short term). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Ibis Hotel Crawley
Accor London Gatwick Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Gatwick Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.