We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley to your Saves list
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
600 helpful votes 600 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Breakfast is mediocre, and the staff allow dirty plates, etc, to pile up on the guests' tables. Every morning we had to carry the used flatware, bowls, cups and rubbish to the servers' area to make room on the table.
Internet cuts off every 15 minutes, which is inconvenient to say the least.
Apart from these two, daily annoyances, the hotel is OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    508
    156
    46
    34
See reviews for
182
473
84
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Very well run hotel with professional customer orientated staff.

Good food at reasonable prices.

Comfortable and spacious room.

Real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

On the plus side,very friendly,happy,helpful staff.Convenient for Gatwick airport using their Shuttle service.However,on the Downside....
1)Catering side dismal!Ridiculous Dining Room prices for a very limited menu.The (Italian chef) seemed tomatoe obsessed,tomatoe sauce ingredient in all the main courses,which tasted....well,"tomatoey"!There were other dining options available,so maybe go for those!Don't eat in the Dining Room!
2)The 2nd.floor corridors smelled of stale tobacco smoke.
3)The Bathroom extractor fans could not be worked in either of the rooms.
Only 1 tiny soap piece supplied to serve basin,shower and bath.
4)The outside appearance of the building was very odd;obviously designed by a pretentious architect!Too big,too garish....and not easy to find in Crawley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janlensen, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear GodwinColin,

Thank you for your comments posted via Tripadvisor and indeed for your kind remarks towards the staff. Having reviewed your article, I would like to share some of my findings with the readers of Tripadvisor;

With regards to the restaurant, as an Italian/Mediterranean restaurant, some of our dishes (in fact, none of our starters and just four of our main courses) do indeed contain tomatoes and whilst we cannot allow for each individual taste, Tripadvisor readers have voted us the No.2 restaurant (out of 44) in Crawley.

As to our bedrooms and bedroom floors – I can confirm that the hotel is a complete non-smoking hotel and that the extraction in our bathrooms is automatically switched on when entering the key card into the room controller unit that also controls the air-conditioning and lighting. Equally, beside soap, in line with many other full service hotels, we also provide shampoo and body wash in all our rooms.

I would like to thank you for your comments for it is only through the feedback of our valued guests that we can maintain the high standards associated with the hotel and as experienced by many Tripadvisor reviewers.

Yours sincerely,

Jan Lensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Superb and detailed customer care from Sarah Shelley. Immaculate conferencing facilities. Accommodation rooms were spacious, clean and modern. Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Myself and my family stayed here 1 day prior to our main holiday in Crete. The staff were very friendly and welcoming as we got there late. The rooms was an excellent size for the four of us and was situated on the ground floor which was so convenient. We did a stay and park offer which worked well and was completely hassle free. A covered car park for the car and easy to reach too. Yes it is a little way out of Gatwick but i personally think worth it. The bar snacks and drinks in the bar were great. My ONLY disappointment was that my children saw the pool table in the 'pub' and wanted to play Dad but no children are allowed in the evening which was VERY sad...i thought we had moved on but obviously not! Drinkers only i guess - shame as this restricted our spend as we were going to have a few more drinks but decided just to get a cup of tea in the room!! Recommend this one though but there are hotels closer to the airport.

Room Tip: Family rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Check-in was fairly quick - to be fair there were a number of airline staff waiting to check-out so it was busy. I had a trainee who was very pleasant and very approachable.

My room was 248 and some distance from the lifts, so it was a bit of a walk to the room. The room was quite pleasant and had a nice shower and bathroom. the bed was quite spongy and would trouble someone with a delicate back posture.

The TV was similar to the model that John Logie Baird worked upon. Guys, please flat-screen time!

The bar service (where the pool table and TV is located) was OK - and later in the room by the water feature was also OK. It's remarkably rare to get a 'personality' behind a bar in any British hotel and this hotel was no exception.

Overall, fine, ok and dandy but nothing stuck out as special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Short drive from Airport, not the best place to stay if you want to go to London downtown, expensive and far!
Shopping areas close by, not the best for trurists, but if you transit, then this is the place.
Hotel staff are friendly, free internet in the lobby is useful, but it is a shame this hotel used to provide smoking rooms and not any more.
There should be something done for those who smoke, it is not the best conditions outside in London to go out for s smoke.

Room Tip: Rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers great accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant as well as English Pub. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.