We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel--Great Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Gatwick to your Saves list
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great Hotel--Great Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions & when it was part of the Meridian chain.
All in all service is excellent & it is extremely handy for the airport.
Yes room service is expensive-but tell me a hotel where it isnt!!!
The Oriental restaurant is excellent.
We get an excellent price through Holiday Extras with car parking included.

Well worth it-wouldnt stay anywhere else when traveling from Gatwick!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    1,525
    397
    138
    76
See reviews for
693
2,295
329
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

Booked an overnight stay on a 'hot deal' and paid £112 (room only). The room we were given was small and shabby, with stains on upholstery & carpet. Also ring marks on the dated 80's style furniture in the room.
Bed smaller than average and rather lumpy.
Public areas are lovely, but this does not make up for the grubby room.
To sum up, a 3 star room for a 5 star price!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Impressive hotel in great location for a preflight stopover but very overpriced. It's basically a room. No niceties like lotion, robes, etc. One tea bag per person and I had to request a kettle to heat water. For the price I expected a little more and whoever ran off with the kettle must have felt the same way. More for people who have an expense account.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

Was able to check-in at 0930 after an early morning arrival from the U.S. so the front desk staff won my heart immediately with that single gesture. Was a bit concerned about the renovations after reading the previous reviews. As I had obtained a rock bottom rate I was assigned a room on the second floor. I figured that room renovations would start from top to bottom and mine would still be nasty. Not so...very nicely furnished, comfortable bed and fantastic marble bathroom. If you want to avoid the mini-bar prices, there is a WhistleStop market and Boots pharmacy just inside the North Terminal with affordable snacks and drinks to take back to your room. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for one night before travelling abroad. The hotel is really close to the monorail and so is easy to get to the south terminal from this hotel.

The fact that this hotel is liked to the airport is a deinite bonus so you don't have to brave the elements to get to it. The entrance area is lovely with water features. The reception staff are very professional.

The first let down was seeing on arrival by a sign at the reception desk that the hotel gym and pool were closed. I had booked my room a couple days before arrival on Sofitels website and there had been no mention of this. I felt this was a let down as I would've chose the Hilton had I known this.

The room itself was average. It was very worn looking with shabby carpets. It did have a huge window though to view planes taking off and arriving and it was sound proof.

Room service prices are high. £7.50 for 2 eggs on toast.

Not worth £117 which I paid for the room itself but worth it for the convenience and location. Once the rooms have been refurbished it will be superb I would imagine.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

We booked to say at the Sofitel as had a early flight to USA. We booked an overnight stay with 15 days car parking, got a great price from 'Holiday Extras'.
The hotel is so convienent and the room was clean, spacious and quiet. We were advised of the refurbishment but didnt see any evidence of this when we stayed.
The reception staff were extremly pleasant and helpful.
Its worth it to pay a bit more and stay on the airport rather than have all the fuss of getting taxis/transfers from the off site hotels.
All in all a very nice hotel.
NB Our bed was very comfy and not lumpy!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed here over night on our way to America. We arrieved at 4pm and were welcomed by a very nice American receptionist, who when she found out we were on honeymoon gave us a lovely room with the biggest bed I have ever seen! The room was clean and tidy and that bed was so comfortable. The hotel is in such a great place for overnight stays that even if it wasn't as nice as it was I would still have rated it well, but we felt very relaxed there and the big new water feature in the lobby is very cool! Highly recomended.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.