We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Gatwick to your Saves list
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Jersey,CI,UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Another excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

When airport hotels are reviewed, one generally lowers expectations as your reason for staying is principally convenience. This hotel however is excellent, reasonably priced and has delivered consistent service on a regular basis.

The hotel is attached to the North Terminal at Gatwick by a walkway. If you are travelling from the South Terminal, it is still only 15 minutes away by walk and shuttle.

The restaurant is pricey, but there is a Marks & Spencer in the North Terminal which serves salads etc and croissants, so I have never eaten at the hotel.

I recommend that you shop around for prices, as I have heard of meaningful variations in prices for the same night. As a guide, I regularly £100-120 per night.

  • Liked — Location to Gatwick Airport (2 minutes walk to North Terminal , 15 minutes to South Terminal)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    1,525
    397
    138
    76
See reviews for
693
2,294
329
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Stayed here prior to my holiday. Check in was smooth and efficient, and I recieved an upgrade in my room upon arrival.
The room and bathroom could not be faulted for the cleanliness or decor in anyway. I did not eat in the hotel as I had an early flight. But it is so convenient being attached to the North Terminal which is reached by a covered walkway from the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again, but I would check other websites to see if I could get a cheaper deal on the room rate. I booked in well in advance of my stay and if I had left it my booking to nearer the time, the room rate would of dropped.

  • Liked — Proximity to Airport.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Two night stay at the Sofitel LGW last week. Have stayed here several times before and the hotel more than lived up to expectations again.

Swift efficient check-in and help given with luggage. Had booked a room on the 8th floor (executive floor) and pleased to note that staff had a note of my room preference (runway view!) from previous stay so allocated same room. Lounge as usual was quiet and efficient and service was very friendly. Check out, in the lounge, was also efficient and speedy.

Had dinner in the main restaurant which was pricey, but excellent. Have also eaten in the Gatwick Oriental (Chinese) restaurant before and that is also excellent.

Room was most comfortable and spotlessly clean. Well soundproofed and no disturbance from inside.

In all a very good experience - way above the normal standard of an "airport" hotel, and will certainly continue to use the Sofitel when travelling through LGW.

  • Liked — The excellent service and the closeness to the airport
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We booked a one night stay here in June, through the MOD discount website as a relaxing start to our holiday and for the free parking. We paid approx £130 for the room with 15 days parking.

The location is second to none, for the North terminal it's a short walk through an interconnecting tunnel. This allowed us to take advantage of night time check-in which was a queue free and easy process. Then we were free to relax.

Reception staff were very welcoming, porters extremely efficient and friendly. Check in was swift. The lobby areas had a nice buzz and were spotlessly clean and impressive. My son liked the glass lifts on both sides. We didn't eat at the hotel but there seemed a nice choice of bar/restaurant meals and the prices weren't too ridiculous. If we'd have needed to eat there, I'd have had no qualms. Piano bar seeme quite nice too.

Rooms were clean, spacious with the highest, comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Fridge with water, tea, coffee and tv with range of world channels.

My son had a z-bed which stretched across the picture window, so, propped up with pillows he had a great night spotting the planes landing and the terminal train going back and forth. (Probably the highlight of his holiday).

Had a very peaceful night, soundproofed from the outside, very quiet in the communal areas.

Very fast checkout. Minutes to the terminal to shop/get our flight. Car was delivered within minutes of our phonecall from the arrivals exit on our return.

What more would you want from an airport hotel?

  • Liked — Clean, modern, comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast included would have been nice!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at the Gatwick Sofitel the night before our flight and found it to be very convenient.We booked an executive room on the 8th floor and had parking included in our package.We were able to pull up outside the hotel and leave the car whilst we checked in and took our cases to our room . Parking is not at the hotel but they provide you with a voucher which you take to the "summer special parking" car park which is well signposted from the hotel and then take the red bus back to the North terminal for a very short walk back to the hotel.
We booked an airport view room and asked at reception if the room allocated did indeed have this view.We were told that they didn't know but if it didn't then to go back to reception.The room did not have a view and after traipsing up to the 8th floor we then had to go back to reception and let them know.I find it hard to believe that a hotel of this caliber couldn't tell me which rooms had the views but expected me to tell them! The room itself was very pleasant and comfortable with a free mini bar of soft drinks and a lovely comfortable bed.It was very quiet with no noise from the airport.
The executive lounge, accessible to all staying on the 8th floor was a lovely quiet room with panoramic airport views serving complimentary drinks(soft and alcoholic) and pre dinner canapes as well as a very adequate continental breakfast in the morning.The staff here were very attentive but also discreet.
It was a pleasant way to start our holiday and the proximity to the North terminal check in desks makes it the best located hotel for Gatwick's North Terminal.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I stayed at the Sofitel Gatwick the night before returning to the US on a morning flight. Best decision of the trip. The hotel is connected by a short passageway to the terminal used by US carriers. Ten minutes after leaving my room, I was checked in and going through security. Wonderful, comfortable room as you would expect of this chain, but the main attraction is the location. If you're flying home from Gatwick, this is the way to go.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No downsides at all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Sofitel is one of the higher end hotels, and the Gatwick installment is no exeption to their impecibe image. You walk to the hotel directly from the North Terminal down a carpeted, tunnel which leads into a huge, modern atrium, cool and sophisticated, with views right up through the centre of the hotel to the roof. It is around this atrium that the rooms are assigned. Ask for a room overlooking the Runway if you can. I did this when i booked, yet when i turned up, they didn't have a room available - but i got an upgrade!! No complaints there!

Rooms are tasteful and comfortable, and you feel relaxed as soon as you walk through your door. Bathroom was very clean, a huge bay window gave a glimpse of the planes above the perimeter wall. It was also quiet, which for me is a must at any hotel!

Overall a very nice stay. With a bit of shopping around and patience you can find some great bargains for it. (my room cost £98)

  • Liked — Clean, very comfortable. Excellently located for early morning/late night flights.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything bad at this time.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.