We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Gatwick to your Saves list
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SOFITEL CHIC GOURMANDISE
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel both on our outbound and inbound legs to break up a long haul flight. Rooms are very nice, and of course the convenience factor is amazing! Service was efficient and friendly, and they also went out of their way to confirm we had a crib already placed in the rooms. I also think the price was pretty reasonable, all things considered. We will definite, stay there again, and certainly recommend it highly.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were pleased with our hospitality.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team directly on h6204-gr@sofitel.com .

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,268
    1,651
    437
    151
    79
See reviews for
733
2,508
357
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

my sister and i realy enjoyed our stay at your hotel. everone was so helpful and charming i would certainly return we had such a lovely experience. thanks to you all. we certainly recommend you to all our friends and family i am sure they will enjoy it to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight. I will certainly ensure that your feedback is passed onto our ambassadors and that they are praise for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel couldn't be more convenient when flying into or out of the North Terminal as it is physically connected to the terminal. You don't nead to go outside at any point so if you're flying somewhere warm, pack your coat before you leave the hotel.

The reception/bar area is a comfortable place to relax and enjoy a drink or coffee.

The bedrooms are tastefully decorated. The single beds are wider than average at 1metre and have really comfortable pillow-top mattresses. The lighting is okay but could do with the option of a central ceiling light in addition to the table lamp, standard lamp and over bed lights. Our room had a comfortable armchair. There was also a mini-bar which on our first stay came with complimentary bottled water but on our second stay (a week later) was empty. I don't particularly like the bath/shower set up. There is a glass door which you need to open to get in or out of the shower. It moves back across the toilet and when you get out of the shower it drips water everywhere. The shower is of the fixed head variety. I prefer the sort that is detachable from the wall. They were a bit mean with the toiletries - only one bar of soap so you had to remember to take it with you when getting in the bath. The toiletries weren't as nice as those I've had in Sofitels in the far East (lemon verbena).

We had an excellent dinner in the main restaurant on our first visit (a Saturday). The receptionist had tipped them off that it was my birthday and they delivered my dessert complete with candle on a plate on which the chef had piped Happy Birthday in chocolate sauce. On our second visit (late on a Sunday) I had an indifferent burger in the Urban Cafe. My friend said her fish and chips were good though.

On our first visit the receptionist was charming and welcomed me back to Sofitel. On our second visit we received a rather surly welcome and a mistake with the room rate which took an age to sort out. Luckily I was able to show the receptionist their confirmation email on my iPad in order to get the correct rate.

Breakfast was very good on both occasions. The grapefruit juice tasted like it had been freshly squeezed. The eggs were nicely cooked and the bacon was lean, the sausages delicious. There was fried bread as well as the usual hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, and grilled tomatoes. The cold offerings included fruit and yogurt.

The hotel was quiet notwithstanding its proximity to the runway.

I've stayed in all of the Gatwick on-airport hotels in recent years and this one is definitely the best both in terms of bed comfort and quality of food/service in the main restaurant. I'd suggest staying here even if you are flying from the South terminal as the shuttle station is just around the corner when you enter the North terminal from the hotel so you can easily get to the South terminal in a matter of minutes, all without going outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found our proximity to the North Terminal convenient to catch your flight. I will also ensure that your comments are passed onto our ambassadors and we will address them, where retraining needs to be considered and where praise should be given.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here the night before our flight and chose here for the sheer closeness to the terminal. Check in was quick and efficient and it was so easy to go to the terminal to check in our luggage the night before. Room well appointed and quiet and we got it at a discounted price. Restaurant and bar a bit pricey but to be expected. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you felt that the hotels location was convenient for the check-in desks at the North Terminal.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A great hotel for an overnight stay before a flight. So easy to walk there from the north terminal. Extremely comfortable. Found food prices high, so ate in the airport terminal itself which is just a few minutes under cover.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked a Park and Fly package deal with Holiday Extras, for staying one night at the Sofitel and eight days parking! Upon arriving at the Sofitel there was only room for four cars to pull up outside and unload luggage and with the Meet and Greet people in the way it seemed a bit congested, but we was patient and waited for a pleasant bellboy to come and help with our cases, whilst pointing me in the right direction to go and park the car!! Lovely service so far, and I had high expectations!! Drove around the car park with ease and found a space, beware the spaces are tiny, so make sure you push your mirrors in!! Upon making my way back to the Park and Fly desk I was met with Tony!! What a miserable person he was, he was so quiet and moody I had problems in hearing what he was saying! Make sure you don't have any key rings on your car key fob, because they "only want key!" He asked me what time my flight was coming home and I told him 2250 on 26th January, so he wrote down 2020! I pointed out this was wrong, but he just shrugged and mumbled something at me!! Great I thought, what excellent service, not! We took the lift to reception, and was met by Gabriella on the check in desk, what an ambassador for Sofitel, bright, cheery, and very helpful! Things were fine from then! We made our way up to room 290, lovely room, huge bed, spotless, clean bathroom! Liked the White Company bathroom freebies, first time I have come across free ear buds! Lovely deep bath, plentiful hot water! Lovely white fluffy bath sheets, you could almost wrap the towel around your body twice!! :-) We declined the food options, choosing to dine inside the North Terminal! Quick speedy check out at 10am next morning after a wonderful nights sleep! Once again we chose to take breakfast airside at North Terminal as i thought Sofitels price for breakfast was very expensive! On return from our super holiday, we was delayed by two hours, and thinking back to our run in with Tony, I was nervous of being charged an extra day as we now went into the 27th January at 0130hrs! No such problem, nice man on the desk, I forget his name, but so much more helpful than Tony! He advised that our car had not been moved and was in the same place I had left it! Brilliant!! I got our car park ticket and whilst looking at it noticed the paid charge, £252! £252 for eight days parking and a lovely stay at the Sofitel! I got a bargain paying £149, I highly recommend the Park and Fly package, superb! Just hope Tony sorts out his attitude!!

Room Tip: Standard rooms were more than adequate for us!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was most disappointed to hear about the difficulties you encountered upon your arrival. Your comments have been passed to our Front of House Manager, who would like to link his apologies in with mine. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Your comments have also been passed to Gabriella who has been praised for her hard work and commitment!

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked this hotel to stay for 1 night in January in order to get an early morning flight. The room was great, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We had booked a family room for myself, my husband and our 10 year old daughter. Quite often when travelling with a child their bed is some rickety ´put you up bed´ which doesn´t look or feel very comfortable but her bed here was excellent - a double sofa bed which was already pulled out and made up for her when we arrived - she loved it and so did we. Bath and shower were both excellent and it was ideally situated for our flight the next day. Have stayed in the Hilton at Gatwick as well but this hotel was far nicer and would be my preference for future trips. Only criticism would be signage - we arrived off a flight at South Terminal on a cold January evening and had to find our way to the hotel at the North Terminal it took us 2 attempts before we were able to locate the hotel - so maybe some more signage so people can locate this great hotel more quickly?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were satisfied with the standard of our family rooms.

If you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#5 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.