We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre filght” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London Gatwick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PARK, STAY & FLY
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Crawley
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pre filght”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a pre flight and car stay, we were very impressed with the room, service and quality. We would recomend this hotel to anyone who wants an easy start to any holiday or trip. You have good access to everypart of the airport, and the staff on our time were all very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,345
    349
    116
    72
See reviews for
621
2012
309
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were on a shortish Med cruise and rather than risk the M25 for an early check-in we thought we’d stay overnight at this Sofitel. It cost us, pre-paid, £240 for a basic room, breakfast, dinner and 10 nights parking. A bargain, we thought, and so it proved.

Our room had a view of the airport, which is what you want from an airport hotel, and was exactly what we wanted. Comfy bed, well-soundproofed, quality TV and radio reception, rapid internet, clean bathroom etc etc. You couldn’t fault it, really.

Downstairs there are three restaurants and we booked for the Brasserie which gave us a dinner that surpassed many Michelin-starred places which have ripped us off. Smoked salmon and goat’s cheese starters, perfectly cooked pork belly and classically executed creme brulees washed down with a £35 merlot made a lovely dinner. Breakfast the next morning had excellent coffee, good quality pastries and acceptable french toast.

The parking set-up here is a piece of cake - you drive up to the entrance, unload bags and wife, head on to the hotel car park, get a ticket, register at the desk and forget it until you fly home. Easy peasy. This hotel makes it all so simple, so sensibly priced, so good you think, why bother with the Med, who not just stay here? And then it starts to rain, and mist, and freeze and be thoroughly UK.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience with our hotel and you found the hotels park and fly package convenient and easy. I will also pass your comments onto our ambassadors and praise them for their hard work and commitment.

If you have any special requests prior to your next stay then our Guest Relations team can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Used this hotel for an early start the next morning from Gatwick North Terminal - literally 3 minutes to check in from the hotel lobby. The hotel is impressive and feels quality. Had a classic room overlooking the main runway which was terrific for plane enthusiasts. No noise interruptions to speak of. The room appeared to be newly refurbished with quality fixtures and fittings and Hermes Toiletries!. Didn't eat in the hotel as took an afternoon trip to Brighton (30 minutes by train each way and ate there.)
The staff were very efficient warm and swift at processing any requests. The bed was super comfy - as expected at Sofitel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and you were satisfied with our staff and the service they delivered. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our ambassadors as I’m sure this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests prior to a future booking then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Easy to locate, good safe parking, excellent room, comfy beds, food very good, service likewise. We would both recommend and stay here again. I asked in advance for a room with airport view so my toddler could watch the planes before bed on which they obliged, not sure this was a good idea as getting her to bed was then a nightmare!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and our Front desk team were able to fulfil your request for one of our runway facing rooms.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a high quality hotel in its own right, but it is ideal for those with an early flight from Gatwick as it has a covered walkway that takes you directly to the terminal.

Although I did not get a chance to use the other facilities, I did notice the hotel is HUGE so I can only speculate how busy they might get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests prior to your next stay then our Guest Relations team can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you want to be close to the airport this Hotel is not the typical airport hotel. It's much better. It has a great serive, nice lobby, very good restaurants. Of course you will have nothing walking distance (you are inside the Airport literally) and you will not enjoy ant nice views. Although it's inside the airport you do not suffer from too much nosie. Good value for money if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the first time we had booked an overnight stay prior to an early flight and it is something we will do again. The hotel is so close to the North The cost with a weeks parking is not much more than using taxis each way. Our room overlooked the central atrium and very comfortable with pillows being really good. We didn't eat at the hotel (ether dinner or breakfast) due the timings but we did enjoy a cocktail in the bar before bed. The staff we met were all friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight. I will of course ensure your kind comments are passed onto our ambassadors and they are praised for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
#5 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.