We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pre early flight.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London Gatwick to your Saves list
Sofitel London Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Sleep & Fly
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for pre early flight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed as a single woman before a very early flight. Very quiet and comfortable and super close to check-in. Wasn't impressed by the restaurant though. Service was swift but very amateurish. Food was OK -ish. Good value for advance on-line booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable nights stay before your early morning flight and you found the hotels location quick and easy to the North Terminal.

I sincerely apologise that you were not satisfied with the level of service and food in our restaurant. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager, who will be implementing the necessary retraining of our ambassadors.

We do have a Guest Relations team, who can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com ahead of any booking if you do have any special requests and queries.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,099
    1,516
    396
    137
    76
See reviews for
687
2,291
329
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Gatwick's Sofitel has it's own adjacent parking and offers packages of a stay plus parking for the duration of your trip. The location is right on airport with a connecting bridge direct from the hotel's reception to the North Terminal. It really couldn't be easier!

The Chinese restaurant in the hotel has great service and excellent food, albeit rather expensive. Bar prices are also high, although efficient and pleasant staff provide table service and complimentary nibbles with drinks.

Everywhere was spotless, including the toilets in the public areas. Good soaps and lotions freely supplied.

Overall this is the perfect choice for a night's stay before a flight.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the exterior are more pleasant than those overlooking the vast atrium with recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable nights stay and were able to enjoy some of the hotels facilities with your meal in our Gatwick Oriental restaurant.

If you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew and must admit in terms of convenience this really can't be beaten.....there is a Premier Inn next door, but it''s still not quite the same as wondering through straight into the terminal!

The reception was impressive and staff were very efficient and courteous....although did push us towards the very expensive Brasserie which we cancelled once we saw the prices on the menu (and the stale atmosphere inside!).

The room was very spacious and the bed was really comfy.

So those are the pros....

Not so good was the food at Le Cafe. Both of our meals were terrible - a cheeseburger that looked like it had come straight out of a frozen value packet and a chicken ramen which was virtually inedible and swimming in oil. It was absolutely dire....and then we got to pay £75 for the privilege (including a bottle of wine). I know airport hotels are expensive...but we really felt let down by what we paid for what we ate and we certainly weren't the only ones.

If we stayed again we'd certainly be paying a trip to M+S in the terminal first!

Once we went to bed, we realised the air con in our room was pumping out room temperature air on it's coolest setting - not warm, but not remotely cool. Wouldn't bother everyone, but we struggled to sleep.

So a decent airport base, but just be wary in the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I sincerely apologise that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager and our Maintenance Manager so they are able to review what needs to be improved upon in the hotel. However I was delighted to hear that you were happy with the welcome and the service you received from our Reception team.

If you happen to have any questions or queries prior to your next stay then our Guest Relations team can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to help.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us in the future and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed overnight to facilitate an early morning flight to the USA the ease of access to the airport the quality of service and the friendly and courteous staff made it a perfect and enjoyable stopover Living in the Midlands Gatwick is not an obvious airport choice but the Sofitel makes it an agreeable option, nice rooms and an assortment of Dining options all in all a very pleasant experience and on I would be happy to repeat in the near future

Room Tip: Airport view rooms add interest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax in the hotels bars and restaurants before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any questions or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to help.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in Sofitel for only one night to catch an early morning flight. I've stayed in quite a few airport hotels and this place is 5 star (according to me)!
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, a smile goes a long way, The lobby is beautifully designed, plenty of seating at the bars and very stylish.
Room is immaculate, comfiest bed i've ever slept in. Although you can't open a window the air con is electric and you can adjust accordingly.
If anybody writes anything lower than perfect they obviously only stay in 6 star hotels as I can not fault a thing.
Perfect location, undercover all the way from airport to the lobby.
Shame I only stayed the one night, perfect way to start a holiday.
Will be sure to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you were able to have a comfortable nights sleep and were able to relax in the hotels bars and restaurants. I will of course ensure that your kind comments are passed onto our team members and they are praised for their hard work and commitment.

If you happen to have any queries or requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biglodge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night prior to flying from gatwick to our holiday destination, the hotel is very classy, exquisite and the foyer and reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our only criticism would be the room service on the food, the food was Luke warm and is very over priced £ 50.00 for a pizza and a boil of soup with garlic bread..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad you were able to have a comfortable nights stay prior to your early morning flight and were able to enjoy the hotels ambience and facilities.

I sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with the standard of your room service order. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Food and Beverage Manager who is currently reviewing the issue.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrived very late after long haul flight, hence didn't complain or ask for changes at the time. 1. Asked for and booked double room with Queen bed. Got twin room instead. 2. Heating was on full and woke us up after just a few hours sleep. 3. Horrible vibrating noise constantly throughout the night, was like being tortured. 4. Mattresses way too soft for a good nights sleep.

Altogether, very average hotel, wishing we had booked a cheaper alternative as we were only asleep for about 4 hours. Would never use again.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 7 like the plaugue, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that you did not have a comfortable nights stay. At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I sincerely apologise that you were given a twin room, rather than the double you had booked. I have passed your comments onto our Front of House Manager, who will be implementing the necessary retraining of our ambassadors to ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again.

I was very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the air conditioning. We do have a duty manager available throughout the day and night and had they been made aware of your concerns could have rectified them for you. When necessary we can also make appropriate room changes, but can understand that this may not have been convenient at the time.

Regarding our beds, the whole bed concept that we have in our rooms is called the ‘MyBed’ and it was especially designed for Sofitel hotels to offer our guests a comfortable sleep during their stay. We do understand that although the majority of our guests are happy with our signature beds, they may not be to everyone’s personal preference and for this reason, we do offer non-feathered pillows and we can remove the top mattress from the bed when requested.

I do hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us and I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.