We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Europa Gatwick to your Saves list
Europa Gatwick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balcombe Road | Maidenbower, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We attended a party Saturday night and it was fab. The room was great and so was the breakfast. Staff were friendly. Always place the 'Do not Disturb' sign on the door then housekeeping won't disturb you early!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    205
    308
    248
    708
See reviews for
320
612
90
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed on the weekend of the 8th Feb it was a coach tour and it was a fab hotel, staff were friendly and polite. Food was fab, choices were great. Breakfast good as well, bit shocked at chips being served for breakfast:) Rafters was nice and cosy with the fire. Rooms were ok, beds a bit lumpy but still got a good nights sleep. Only downside were the rooms, we were in 2 rooms one was part cleaned and other was missed,meant to say at reception but totally forgot. Would still stay at hotel again though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were very pleased you enjoyed your break with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is really easy to find, just off the motorwsy. The parking is very busy and we drove around for a while before we could park! Check in was quick and easy and our room was as expected(with a bath!!), but we were cold in our room!! We only stayed 1 night and are easy going so we didnt complain. The breakfast was very good with everything you could want!! If you need to park for gatwick and need a room before you fly then this is a good option, a shuttle runs frequently from the hotel but just check return times as they get less frequent in the evening on the return journey. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Europa next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked here for an overnight stay before a very early morning flight and the price included 8 days parking. We thought this was a complete bargain. The rooms were okay, a bit tired but they were clean. The bar food was poor to average but there was also a choice of carvery. Good bus service to the airport too. For the price - £59 - we couldn't fault it and are likely to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with most aspects of your stay. We do apologise for the bar food issue and will certainly follow this up with both the Chef and Bars Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Using this hotel as a sleep over and parking, try else where it will be cleaner. Sorry but the hotel was cold ( heating not on until 5.00 in the rooms ) and dirty. We had mould on the window nets, my wife refused to use the bathroom, the room was looking very tied and speaking to other guest their rooms were also in the same condition.

Room Tip: Don't go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear you were unhappy with your accommodation. Had we known you were dissatisfied at the time, we would have been able to offer you another room. In the mean time, we have asked our Housekeeper to check all the windows for any mould issues and rectify accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night, with 8 nights car parking before our holiday, and to be fair, after reading some of the reviews, I wasn't expecting much!

But it was an ok stay - hotel is a bit tired looking but our room was huge and clean so for the money - £46 including the parking, and a free bottle of wine, we had no complaints.

We arrived late in the evening and opted for the carvery, (at a discounted price, by paying for it on check-in) and it was ok - quite tasty with a good choice, if a little dried and overcooked, but as I said, it was gone 9pm by the time we ate, so to be expected really!
We did not stay for breakfast, choosing to have that at the airport instead as we had an early start.

Our late arrival did mean that we had a bit of trouble finding a car parking space - had to drive round a few times before we were lucky enough to find someone leaving! But the following morning there were plenty of spaces, so maybe there was a function on in the hotel somewhere?

The shuttle bus was on time and the driver very pleasant and we were lucky on our return that the hourly bus arrived at the stop just as we did (co-incidently) otherwise I'm sure we would have opted for a taxi over waiting up to an hour for the next bus!

Overall, I thought we got what we paid for and would probably stay here again before a flight if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your detailed review on Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback received from our guests and hope you will return to the Europa when organising your next holiday via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick

Address: Balcombe Road | Maidenbower, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Europa Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.