We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food at an incredible price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Brasserie at the Sofitel London Gatwick

La Brasserie at the Sofitel London Gatwick
Sofitel London Gatwick | North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
+44 1293 567070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 187 Restaurants in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food at an incredible price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I ate at La Brasserie whilst staying in the Gatwick Sofitel before an early flight the next morning. The restaurant was about a third full with a quiet atmosphere (it was a Monday evening).

We ate from the Prix Fixe menu, which was £17.50.

I had crumbed & fried goat's cheese with red onion jam inside, pork belly with creamed mash for main & a good sized creme brûlée for dessert.

My wife had some of my goat's cheese to start before crumbed whitting & triple cooked chips for main & an incredible looking fruit salad to finish.

Overall we thought the meal was faultless & the service excellent. The best bit was that we only paid £20 extra for dinner & breakfast as part of the room rate.

We would both whole heartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    70
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“French cuisine and service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us had dinner here on the 3rd April. We decided to choose from the a la carte menu as the table d'hote did not provide us with enough choice. Seabass for the main course was the choice of three of us and confit of duck for the fourth. The seabass was perfectly cooked and came with enough tiny vegetables not to necessitate ordering side dishes. The duck confit looked good and I am told tasted good! Presentation was good on our starters - between us we had crab/prawns and scallops. Service was discreet and efficient. Perhaps a tad expensive in this day and age, but a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“extremely impressed with all aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

we ate with my sister and her husband who were guests at the hotel. Having read reviews of all 3 restaurants I chose to book La Brasserie and was really pleased I did! Great service, timing just right, lovely presentation and excellent quality. Not a sound of any planes atall just the sight of the shuttle between north and south terminals zipping past. really impressed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good for people with allergies & everyone else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Chose La Brasserie when staying overnight for following days flight. The food we chose was excellent with a varied menu. Where we were extremely impressed was for the attention for detail for my wife who suffers from a wide range of food allergies. From the waiter to the chef, who came to our table to discuss her menu, the attention to detail was second to none. Whilst not cheap we can recommend whole heatedly this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“god but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The cheaper daily menu is good value. Wine list varied and reasonably priced. A la carte is expensive although good quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasserie at the Sofitel London Gatwick also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to La Brasserie at the Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brasserie at the Sofitel London Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.