We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A decent property, with good helpful staff. A great location, good size rooms providing a good nights sleep. No aircraft noise, but a very expensive bar, so take your own drinks. The food was as you would expect, but reasonably priced. We used the parking option which worked well with the meet and greet on our return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    591
    292
    113
    73
See reviews for
287
656
106
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located - within walking distance of the Terminal building. If you do not have a lot of luggage you can easily reach it walking! Rooms are clean, quiet - considering how close it is to the airport - and the service is great. You can have breakfast or an evening meal - aswell as room service - food is good - and I would defintely consider it again, when having to stay overnight at Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I was recently in London, and last minute had to book a hotel for night. I mistakenly booked via expedia on my smartphone for Wrong Night. When I arrived the Hotel Reception and reservations manager,couldn't be more helpful.. Booked me in at Best rate, advised me of procedure to cancel with Expedia ,accommodated my late checkout next day etc.
The icing on cake was when the Reservations Manager came over to me in Lobby next morning and asked & advised me to do it if I had not cancelled booking with expedia. When I called them she spoke with them, to ensure there was no charges incurred for cancellation. Don't get taxi from airport, its walking distance but 10£ by taxi. Shuttle bus is 3£.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Conveniently located in walking distance of terminal (if you can cope with carrying your luggage) and next to long stay car park. Received a great room. Recently refurbished. Clean, spacious, quiet. Upgrade with elite status helps. Would certainly agree with other reviewers. Food is overpriced and not got the quality to match. Out of choice, wouldn't eat there. Over £40 for 2 burgers and chips, one beer and water in the bar is just too much. Especially when they claim the burger has won awards. Nevertheless we know now and even though we have no hesitation in using this hotel again, will chose to dine somewhere else. Just so you know evening check in always has long queues.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hotel was reasonable, prices of food & drink some what high, Parking was not the cheapest.. my car was badily damaged and no one took responsibilty... THINK TWICE ABOUT PARKING...
reaaly bad experience

Room Tip: Try some where else
See more room tips
Green Features: Reception was good, Maple parking was not the cheapest but I hoped for a ggod service... however it was awful...my car was badily damaged and because I drove 50 metres any claim was not valid
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to read that you have a damaged car. I am not aware of any reported damage to any car on our premises. Did you report it to us? Unfortunately if a car gets damaged whilst parked on our car park we do not accept any liability for it, but we have CCTV installed with number plate recognition so we probably would be able to identify what caused your damage and would help with the investigation. If you like to contact me and provide details, I am only to happy to help.
Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the terminal building - don't get the bus unless it's pouring with rain, you have lots of luggage or you struggle with walking. Very comfortable beds and clean rooms. Perfect for an overnight at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. It is a 3 minute walk from Gatwick South Terminal. Very suitably priced. Extremely convenient to stopover if one has to catch an early morning flight, or for a late night arrival into gatwick. The facilities itself are excellent and well-suited to a business traveller or families. The staff are well-trained and check-in/ out always has been smooth. There are printers and computers in the public space to print out tickets at the last minute, food available until late, coffee and soft drink machines and wifi in the rooms. Information is available on flight departures and arrivals at the checkin area. I believe there is a bus/ shuttle to Gatwick and Heathrow, though am not sure of this.

The rooms are spacious and the double glazing is wonderful so that one does not hear the flights at all! Clean spacious bathrooms and beds with tea/ coffee facilities.

Having said that, I find breakfasts very expensive here but since Gatwick airport is a 3 minute walk, I have walked over for breakfast. Parking is available at the hotel at £25 for overnight parking.

I would recommend this hotel highly as a pit stop.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel

Address: Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.