We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Crawley
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the 10th. March 2014.
We were very pleased with the size of the room and the quality of the furnishings. We ate in the restaurant and also used the bar. They were very comfortable and well lit. We were very pleased with menu.We used the shuttle bus but felt it a bit expensive at £3 each way.
We will certainly use this again the next time we pass through Gatwick
P . Cowlishaw

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    591
    292
    113
    73
See reviews for
287
657
106
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I like staying here the night prior to any holiday and have recently posted a good review whilst away. On my return, we collected our car (we always do the stay and park option) and we had paid for a valet whilst we were away. The outside looked sparkling, but the inside windows looked like they had been cleaned with a dirty cloth. We had to stop and clean them to be able to see where we were going. I e mailed Marriott that evening. The following day when I saw the car in daylight you can see the entire bodywork is covered in fine scratches. I have not had any form of reply to my e mail. I know the parking is not Marriott directly but they could at least reply and signpost me to the right person.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am sorry your car was not cleaned to the high standards you should have expected. I have checked all e-mails, but could not find a single e-mail relating to your claim. If you would e-mail info@gatwickparking.net and explain what happened I am confident they will deal with your complaint in a favourable manner.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our second visit and found that the bus pick up from the terminal impossible to locate, therefore we walked the 10 mins with our 4 cases to the hotel.

The check in process painfully slow despite there no being a large queue at the desk.

As we were staying here before our flight the following day we were expecting to be able to use the hotel wifi until we were met with an exorbitant fee to do so. This coupled with the wildly overinflated food prices meant we walked back to the terminal for our evening meal and free wifi there. A loss of £60 revenue for the hotel and loss of likelihood of our return in the future.

The beds are terrible and can only be likened to sleeping on a concrete slab, also the air conditioning in the room did not work correctly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very valuable to us.

We are sorry to learn that that you could not locate any signs at the airport directing you to the main concourse where all hotel buses run from. Shuttle buses operate from Bus Stop No. 9 at South terminal and Bus Stop no. 8 at North Terminal and cost £3.00 per person one way payable to the driver accordingly. The bus to catch is G2 for our hotel.

There are signs at both terminals which direct passengers towards the hotel buses/coaches pick-up point. We are always delighted to share this information with our guests too when they call us to plan their journeys.

Please accept our apologies again for the delay in your check-in. We endeavour to provide enough attention to our guests on arrival and attempt to answer all their queries. This sometimes causes a delay with our other guests.

Our Internet and Food & Beverage prices are very competitive to the other hotels in the area and we appreciate your feedback on this. Our new Casterbridge Grill Restaurant which opened 6 months ago has turned out to be very popular in the area and is serving the best steaks within Gatwick.

We have recently gone through an upgrade with our Internet facilities and are currently the provider of the fastest internet speed within hotels in the area.

We are sorry that you had issues with the bed in your room and air-conditioning. Please contact the hotel directly to advise us which room you stayed in so that we can get this looked at as soon as possible. Having looked at our records, we are unable to track back any similar feedback left by our other guests recently.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttrbt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

rooms are spacious, including bathroom... breakfast ok, but nothing special. 8 to 10 minutes walk from south terminal, i was a bit shocked to see that they charge GBP 3.- for the shuttle bus. I would expect this to be free.
Location is great if you need an overnight just because the flight schedule is asking for it. If I had a bit more time, I would go for something in Crawley - kind of a nice little town nearby.
Staff are efficient and friendly - all in all it's a good deal if you can book the special fares of around GBP 60 to 70...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had a one night stay at this hotel , fortunately the company paid with a generous food allowance. However the price was astronomical for some poor quality food.

I had the mis-fortune to try surf and turf .. the six chips where ok but the three prawns where either from the freezer or may have been caught in the local canal.
the price doesn't reflect the food a number of others in our party had similar experiences with other fare. service was a bit slow too
the Bar meals looked ok and the rooms are fine

Each table had a bottle of water at £4.50 it was a bit cheaper if you drank the one in your room

I wont be eating there again

Room Tip: Don't spoil your stop by eating in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your poor meal. We serve on average 300 meals a night and I am sorry that your meal was not up to standard. If you stay with us again, please let the restaurant manager know of your past experience to ensure you will remember your next meal for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I reviewed this hotel six months ago and gave it a good rating, but not now. The staff are still great and the rooms are ok, but the restaurant has really gone downhill. On our last visit we were surprised how good it was, this time was a real disappointment. The service was fast, too fast to be anything but microwaved pre-plated meals. Even when we complained, there was no apology. In fact, there was no response at all! Next time we'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that you felt our restaurant standards dropped. We introduced a new restaurant concept in October 2013 with the aim to offer the best steaks in Gatwick and improve service and menu items on offer. I can assure you we do not offer any items that are microwave cooked. Please accept our apologies and we do hope you will try the restaurant again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Child Okeford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went on holiday to Goa on 8/2/14 and stayed the night before. No complaints, room was clean and comfortable away from the lifts on the third floor so very quiet. Breakfast was buffet, nothing special, but adequate. For a one night stay, ok. Would we stay again, dont see why not.

Room Tip: Third floor away from the lifts, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel

Address: Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.