We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate at the Inn and did not use the accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shakespeare Inn to your Saves list
Shakespeare Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We ate at the Inn and did not use the accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The restaurant was very busy at the time of our visit. All tables were reserved but we were squeezed in at about 6.15 although the table wasn't booked until 7.45! Plenty of time for us to have a meal.
I opted for the pan fired chicken with a plum and cranberry sauce. I thought the sauce was straight out of jar as it looked a bit glutinous. The chicken was very tender but lacked any colour I believe it should have had from the frying pan. The chips were light and crisp, vegetables slightly crunchy as I like. Both dishes came with an enormous salad garnish that made me remind the server I had ordered vegetables! I didn't eat it. My wife had the duck breast with the same plum and cranberry sauce but without the cranberries! We both thought it a bit too spicy.
The pub served an excellent range of real ales so that was a bonus.
This just my opinion so you must really try it for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
51
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just returned from a relaxing break at The Shakespeare Inn and have been delighted by our choice of accommodation. The room was clean and comfortable, well thought-out (an extra mirror near an electric socket for the hairdryer for example) and a generous allocation of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and bathroom 'freebies'.
The location is perfect, quiet, rural, yet right amid the many attractions of this picturesque and historic area, near Ironbridge, with fantastic walking all around.
And the food! Yum! After sampling the popular restaurant on the first night we did not even think of venturing further afield. The breakfasts likewise were excellent.
With friendly staff and impeccable hospitality, this makes a winning combination. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Booked the family room for three nights as I was travelling with a mate and it wasn't easy to find a twin in the area. For our purposes it was fine - the lower bunk is okay once you're lying down. But be warned: if you are planning to take children to this room on a Friday or Saturday they may not sleep easily before midnight as it is directly over the bar and very noisy. It's a justifiably popular pub with good food, loads of character and no nonsense. Just the sound of a hundred conversations taking place at once. The room is a good size. Too many multisockets for my liking. The shower cubicle is small but has excellent pressure. Staff attitude was consistently positive and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, not even a cooked breakfast at 7.30am on Monday morning. A pretty good menu in the evening with generous portions. We ate in three nights in a row.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Once again, my husband and I stayed at the Shakespeare Inn for a 6-night break from the horrors of work, in early September. We use The Shakespeare as a base and go flying off all over the place to visit the many attractions in Shropshire, Herefordshire, West Midlands and Wales - and ideal place to come back to each day. To be quite honest, we could emigrate to Shropshire and just stay there for ever. As always, the large room was immaculate and a delight to have a large flat-screen TV! The bathroom was well-stocked as was the refreshments tray every day. We never wanted for a cup of tea....

Of course, Martin and his team produced the most excellent meals as always, and we were always well-stuffed each night. Other reviewers have expressed their delight of the restauraunt side - and I can tell you the place was very busy every single evening - which indicates it's well-deserved reputation for good food at reasonable prices, without any of the pretention that so often goes with a good place. Thank you, guys. Heartily recommended - but you will need to book ahead and tell them if you wish to eat there in the evenings if you are booking accommodation.

Needless to say, as a resident, the successful pub and restauraunt does create some noise through the evening, but would you be so daft as to book B&B at a pub without considering this first? It is not the sort of place that attracts riotous customers - just joyful ones - so we are quite happy with it. If you are looking for peace and quiet in the evening, go to an ordinary B&B - but you miss out on the delights of this cheerful place!

The breakfasts each morning were sufficiently large and freshly cooked that we needed only the lightest of snacks for lunch each day, and all the staff were friendly and cheerful - which speaks reams for a small pub with 4 guest rooms - it's very much a family affair and makes you relax and feel welcomed - what more can you ask for?

We will be returning for another 6 nights, probably in July 2012 - and I can't tell you how much we are looking forward to "the great escape" once again! Thanks guys.
Shelagh and Sam Mason

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Had a great meal out here with the family on a Sunday night . Starters were exellent the best being taste of Greece :) , really good service and nice ales on tap ! Good main meal I had chicken fijitas and they were tastie !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have visited the restaurant about 8 times over the year and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and has lots of flavour and believe me you won't leave the Shakespeare inn hungry .

The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the beer is also good.

You will need to book a head though because it is very popular.

Well worth every penny.

Jameo

p.s I recommend the toffee crunch pie for dessert !!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have recently returned from a short break at the Shakespeare Inn.
The room was lovely and spacious and exceptionally clean.
All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we even got chatting to some of the locals.
The inn is ideally located for the Coalport Pottery museum and Tar Tunnel.
We had a nice stroll along a path to Ironbridge itself.
Food was excellent with plenty of choice and good portions.
The restaurant is very popular at weekends so always reserve a table to be sure of getting evening meal.
Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.