We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Telford

Save Saved
You added International Hotel Telford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
International Hotel Telford
St. Quentin Gate, Telford TF3 4EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Telford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here. When we arrived in the room the sofa bed hadn't been made up and when we started to we found an unfortunate stained mattress. We complained and without any fuss the lady helped us with our bags to a better room and upgraded breakfast free of charge for our trouble. A manager followed up with a call on our return to apologise. Friendly staff, nice modern room.

Room Tip: Choose the side away from the Holiday Inn Express.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear jordie2013

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you felt you had received an excellent service during and after your stay. I do apologise once again for the problem you had with the sofa bed but I am glad that I was able to speak to you personally to say sorry for this.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    90
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
25
104
24
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A good hotel for reasonable price and i recommend it for a night stay. The room facilities were good with comparison to the price. The staffs were friendly and helpful. They offer a nice continental breakfast as well. Please note the Wi-fi is not free, so be prepared.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear aslamc

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here as my husband had a business meeting in Telford....ok as far as cleanliness, reception staff on checking in were very friendly and helpful, breakfast (continental ) was average...bar area was ok ... but no other customers...found the holiday inn next door was better...had a great evening meal and the bar staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear georgian4

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and that you also found your way to our sister hotel to enjoy a nice meal. We pride ourselves on our customer service at both hotels so its good to see that you had a great experience.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent value for money. Good room, very good breakfast and a very reasonable price. Couldn't fault it. Location was perfect, very central. Parking just outside. Nice bar area but usual hotel prices. All round very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Glyn E

Thank you very much for your review and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here twice.
The first time it was quiet, good value and seemed dog friendly - with no added dog charge.
However, we stayed again recently and it was a bit noisy this time.
It seems it is used by groups attending the adjacent sports/exhibition areas - and a youth dance competition was on at the time. Lots of noisy, excited youngsters everywhere.
Also, we were charged an extra £10 per night this time, for our cat-sized dog to sleep in his own small travel-bed inside our room.
Given that our B&B Double Room rate was £42 per night - the dog charging policy Is too high.
There is plenty of choice locally, so we will look for pastures new next time.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, best to go somewhere more dog-friendly and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jody80

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt our hotel was not dog friendly as this certainly isnt the impression we intend to give. We have always had a charging policies for dogs which is related to any addiitonal cleaning or refreshing that may be necessary before the room is re-let.

I do apologise for any disturbance caused by the groups attending the dance competition at the adjacent International Centre.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just off the M54, so convenient for touring. Only problem we had the weekend we where there were roadwork’s which caused a few detours.
As for the hotel, its staff are very friendly, helped us decide which was the best way to get to the Shrewsbury Flower Show due to the roadworks, taxi to Telford Train Station then direct train to Shrewsbury (about 20 min). They will also provide a map of the town.
Rooms are clean and tidy, soft white towels, power shower with shampoo, hair dryer etc provided. We even had the iron & ironing board in the wardrobe. There’s also a kettle and good supply of tea or coffee and biscuits.
Breakfast is a variety of hot drinks; tea, coffee or hot chocolate; juices, cereals, yoghurts, rolls, toast etc also bacon but no scrambled eggs which would have been nice.
There are bar and lounge areas, both with large screen TV's.
The air conditioning works but could be noisy, perhaps it needed a service because we could not adjust it to very cool.
Perhaps the only thing missing is a safe in your room.
There are a few parking spaces by the main entrance to this hotel but the majority are in the 'Holiday Inn' car park. No charge, which is good, but you will have to give your registration number when you book in.
We did not use the leisure facilities in the adjacent Holiday Inn but this would be an additional cost which perhaps should be included in your stay.

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts. Ours faced the car park and we slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Makardi10

Thank you for your top marks review! Shrewsbury Flower Show is an amazing event and I'm glad the team were able to explain the best options for travelling there.

Your descriptive review will be very helpful to future guests, so thank you for taking time out to pass on your tips.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife to visit National Trust properties in the area. Absolutely great value for money, room very clean, bed a bit hard but we had no problems sleeping (apart from other noisy guests, the ignorant white van crowd). Breakfast was great with yogurts, bacon, rolls, tea, coffee, fruit (tinned), croissants (staff will heat them if asked) and cereals. Fantastic choice for a continental that was included in our room rate. Will be looking to visit the area again as there's lots to see and will not even think about going anywhere else. Special word for Kylie who was very friendly and helpful - clearly loves her job and it shows, well done! See my other review on the Dragon's Den Chinese just up the road from here - amazingly good!

Room Tip: Our room faced the car park and away from the lift so it was quiet apart from other guests banging d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Frank G

I was really pleased to read your review and have passed on your kind remarks to all the team, especially ensuring that Kylie was made aware.

I hope you enjoyed seeing all the wonderful National Trust properties round and about, but I'm sure you won't have had time to see them all, so I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Hotel Telford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Telford

Address: St. Quentin Gate, Telford TF3 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel offers continental breakfast with the addition of hot bacon.Dogs are welcome, per night fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your International Hotel Telford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford International Hotel
International Hotel Telford England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Telford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.