We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wickets Inn

The Wickets Inn
240 Holyhead Road, Wellington, Telford TF1 2EB, England
01952 246991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 176 Restaurants in Telford
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
Restaurant details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Busy little pub serving good quality pub grub at reasonable prices. Gluten free diets catered for, although the range of options is somewhat limited but at least they know what you are talking about when you ask about gluten free (a bonus in most establishments!)
Large portions, so would be great place to take teenage children who have bottomless stomachs if you don't want to break the bank.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped here to grab a bite to eat before we checked into our hotel just down the road. The food was brilliant ! could not fault it at all.! a large choice on the menu and the specials board ! Very generous portions too ! will definately call in again next time I am in the area !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The menu looked limited at first but there was a good selection of specials. Portions are enormous! I had Surf and Turf which included an 8oz Rump Steak and a portion of scampi that would have big on its own. It was like eating two main courses. They came with onions, mushrooms and tomatoes; then they was a large portion of chips and another portion of mixed vegetables. I couldn't eat it all. It was good value and the staff were really helpful.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked a table for 2 with a friend of 95 years young and recently widowed. the care she received was excellent the food and service too even phoning for a taxi to return home, she felt safe warm and well fed we hope to make this a regular jaunt, as she no longer drives and widowed isolation is an increasing issue.

I have been several times previously and felt this would make her feel relaxed and comfortable and well fed too, £22 for 2 meals, puds and drinks is in my opinion excellent value for money

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“By chance visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Called in hoping to get lunch but they stopped serving food at 2pm. Very pleasant staff and had a glass of wine and a packed of crisps - would return if we were in the area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wickets Inn also viewed

 
Telford, Shropshire
 

Been to The Wickets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wickets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.