We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Telford Shawbirch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Telford Shawbirch to your Saves list
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch
Whitechurch Drive | Shawbirch, Telford TF1 3QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Telford
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Checked in on 21/2/14. Have stayed here several times in the last few months and this was the worst. Room was ground floor which was not necessarily a Robles until the people upstairs decide to start stomping around in the early hours of the morning, we were then woken by a group of drunks trying to find their rooms. The following day the same happened so mentioned it at reception but was told there was nothing they could do ! REALLY? Again woken this night by the same thing so on check out again mentioned it and not even an apology, supposed to be staying here
Next week, will see what happens .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Telford Shawbirch, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests during your stay KarenOsborne. We do ask all of our customers to respect their noise levels during their stay and our hotel staff will be required to patrol the hotel on a regular basis so that they can be aware of any disturbances. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
24
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here overnight with my wife, had a pleasant stay the room was really clean and comfortableand had recently been refurbished, The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.5 mins from Wellington

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Ok the hotel was as was the location,when I first went on line to book it was£32 per night . When I actually booked it was£60. On arrival it had gone down to£32 again, which I mentioned to the staff who said it fluctuates. I find this annoying to say the least. I was told I could of cancelled that day rebooked at the cheapet price. So everyone booking please note !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great stay here, it was clean comfortable and well priced, will use Travelodge again. It was also nice to be able to eat on site at a Toby Cavery so no more driving after a long day travelling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This location has obviously been recently refurbished, and the new decoration and fittings are smart and welcoming (while still a little generic and anonymous, as to be expected).

We had a double room (clean and well presented) on the ground floor for our one night stay, as it happened a wheelchair accessible room although neither of us currently need the additional facilities of one.

The bathroom is well designed, and seems at first glance well adapted for the needs of a wheelchair user with plenty of rails and lowered facilities, although as non-user my viewpoint is biased.

The shower delivered plenty of pressure and heat, but as ever if you're going to stay in a budget chain hotel you need to remember to bring your own toiletries or be prepared to purchase them from the vending machine in reception.

The let down in the room was the bed - not actually a king size as described, but two singles clipped together (although this may be an adaptation for the room). The newly designed mattress (with attendant advertising in room and reception) was hard. Very hard. Although my partner slept fine, she has previously fallen asleep on a snooker table, a kitchen work top and a flight of stairs. I slept poorly, and only after an extended period of sleeplessness.

My other comment would be that with so many people owning mobile phones / tablets / devices, and wishing to charge them overnight, why with a total refit of rooms that has integrated lighting at the bedhead has this chain not installed power socket provision to accompany this?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Telford Shawbirch, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are very sorry to learn that you found the mattress to be uncomfortable and because of this were unable to get a good night sleep RedHillian. We can confirm that the zip and link beds are in accessible rooms to allow the room to be set up as two single beds if required. We can confirm that all family and double rooms are set up with a king sized bed. We are also very sorry to learn that you found the position of the plug sockets to be inconvenient. Please be assured that your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Newly decorated, clean room still smelt of fresh paint. Friendly welcome, very noisy plumbing in the middle of night, sounded like a motorbike in the corridor. Only towels for one guest, booked a room for two, most annoying and the third time this has happened in different travel lodges. The receptionist apologised and assured me it was an error and not company policy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Telford Shawbirch, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are very sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to internal noise in the hotel lynseyshols. We can confirm that our rooms should be set up with the correct amount of towels, and your feedback will be shared with our hotel staff which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are very impressed with the new beds and modernised fittings in our room
this stay. We`re really looking forward to lots more Travel Lodge ,short breaks again during this year. Excellent value for Money,and excellent facilities, and helpful staff . Thankyou again for a brilliant break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Telford Shawbirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Telford Shawbirch

Address: Whitechurch Drive | Shawbirch, Telford TF1 3QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Telford Shawbirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch Hotel Telford
Travel Lodge Telford
Telford Travel Lodge
Telford Travelodge
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Telford Shawbirch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.