We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay at the buckatree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckatree Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Buckatree Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Telford
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic stay at the buckatree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We travelled down from Scotland for a long weekend at this hotel as a family wedding reception was here. First room allocated was above the bar room 103, requested a change and was allocated room 66 overlooking the lake. Decor lovely and good room facilities. Reported 2 minor room faults on checking out, this did not spoil our stay but would enhance the stay of other guests. Restaurant and bar food was excellent top marks to the chef for the high standard of cuisine, it would be hard to be disappointed. the service in the restaurant could have been more efficient, on first morning at breakfast had to request our tea and toast on 2 occasions and it only arrived after we had been served our cooked breakfast. On second night at dinner wine was served after main course arrived and having made 2 requests. Waiter apologised and said this would come off the bill which it did,nt. Overall a great stay, pleasant courteous staff, already lokking at booking again for another family wedding next november.

Room Tip: away from the main reception/bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Susannah,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that despite some minor faults you still felt we deserved a rating of excellent; I take on board your observations and will ensure we review our basic service standards.

It is refreshing that in today’s culture of guest reviews you have posted balanced feedback whereby both the pros, and cons are considered whilst not detracting from the enjoyment of a weekend away.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    137
    69
    47
    26
See reviews for
51
218
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Comfortable, quiet hotel on the north slope of the Wrekin – an atmospheric woodland setting. The room has everything you might want: table and chair, kettle and hospitality tray, strong wifi signal, iron and ironing board, comfortable bed, excellent shower and bath. Quality breakfast with natural yoghurt, muesli, fruit compote, fresh juice, etc. On Saturday and Monday my ham and eggs were cooked to perfection to order. Sunday breakfast was not quite to the same standard with precooked items available from a hot buffet. Pleasant service from British staff but be sure to scrutinise your itemised bill on checkout – I saved myself a tenner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear James,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate our wonderful location. Please accept our apologies for the error on your final bill.

You are clearly a well travelled individual with an eye for detail and your review is both informative and appreciated.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The price was amazing. We booked a superior family room with breakfast for just £39 and there was no other hotels nearby for that value. When we arrived we realised that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere but this didn't really bother us as we were driving to see friends anyway. Our room had a balcony which overlooked a lake and had beautiful views over the countryside. Excellent value for money. Me and my partner also thought the breakfast was of a good quality. The continental side was a bit bare but the full English had everything you needed and when we went down (about 9) they were just putting out a lot more new food. We would definately stay again, but only at this price. Now for the negatives unfortunately. Upon arrival although friendly the receptionist didn't really seem like she knew what she was doing. We have stayed at a lot of hotels and she just was not up to scratch. Firstly she didn't know whether we had breakfast or not and tried to add it on for another £7.50. We said that it was included and she said "oh yeah, does say that here" she didn't give us any information about car parking, breakfast (location of and times) and we had to ask all of the standard questions without just the usual speach they make! Another point on the staff was the poor girl at breakfast in the morning who I can only descibe as a headless chicken, running around on her own starting to seat all the guests and then by the time she had seated one couple someone else had snuck in as there is no sign to say please wait to be seated people were just grabbing tables and she was running around all over the place. The decor in the hotel looks recently done but not really to our tastes. Looks like they could have done something really modern and they were trying but it just ended up a little busy. The bed was horrifically uncomfortable and the pillows like sleeping on cardboard. It's very obvious that the beds were not a factor in the refurb and me and my partner did not sleep well at all. We would not have stayed here if it wasn't so cheap because I would have thought that there is much better hotels out there for £50+ but at £39 for the night with breakfast we couldn't really complain. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time and thought that has gone into your review. Unfortunately we were experiencing some technical issues between our reservation system and our partner sites which is why there was some confusion over your rate which then carried over into a disorganised check-in process - may I reassure you this is not the normal standard.

We also experienced some staff shortages which were beyond our control and unfortunately by the time we were able to rectify this it was rather late on during breakfast. I hope that my honest reply to the negative areas raised can be taken into consideration and am delighted that you found many positives to balance your review.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As you drive in you think your lost, keep going!
If you have lots of luggage drop off outside first as car park is up a very steep slope!
Nice hotel, did notice coach in the car park , thinking oh no a groupon deal ! But stayed in my room and only noticed them at breakfast which was overly busy as only 2 serving !
Room lovely with a little balcony, but could here every word being spoken in the room next door.
Fire alarm went of at 3:30am then went off again , with no word from any staff!
Room service food not great, Thai red curry had no taste, no spice,garlic or lemon grass but plenty of coconut milk ! Lemon posset to die for.
Wifi free but very patchy as set in a forest so tv signal also patchy.
What was most disappointing was no duvet, only a sheet and scratchy blanket, but with a nice cover, in this day and age a duvet is the norm !
I would stay again if in the area if needed to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the left of the corridor have little balcony that overlooks the garden I was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Louise,
Many thanks for your feedback. Due to our excellent location at the foot of the Wrekin we are a popular destination for all kinds of groups which does not have any adverse effect on the hotel, quite the opposite in fact.

I am disappointed that your meal did not live upto your expectations but delighted your found the lemon posset 'to die for’ I believe the choice between blankets and duvets is a personal opinion but take note of your own preference. We do not experience problems with either our Wi-Fi or TV reception but of course this may be an isolated instance on this occasion.

I apologise that our fire alarm disturbed you which was most unfortunate and unforeseen and hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at the Buckatree Hall Hotel on several occasions we were really impressed with the recent refurbishment, the bar area much improved also a better atmosphere. The meals were of an excellent standard and the staff all very friendly. Our only complaint is,could do with replacing pillows with a better quality. Beautiful area good for walking, we will return, and wish the new owners every success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've stayed at the Buckatree several times over the last few years, visiting The Ironbridge Gorge and its museums. This time, we booked on the spur of the moment for a short break, visiting Wroxeter Roman remains, Shrewsbury and Ludlow. We'd always enjoyed our previous stays and we were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had been given a makeover but not lost any of its charm. The staff are always welcoming and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens have small patios and it's nice to sit out and relax and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stay overnight on business. It appears that many areas of the hotel have been recently refurbished. Evening meal was fine with friendly staff, although breakfast was self service. Not all breakfast items were hot and coffee and toast arrived after the breakfast had been eaten.
Room was large and comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am naturally disappointed that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We serve a selection of continental items along with a full English breakfast from our hot buffet which is self service. Tea / coffee & toast is delivered to the table after it has been ordered, I apologise if there was a delay in receiving this.

I am pleased you found your room comfortable and that you were able to rate us as good despite the small 'blip' in our usual high breakfast standards.

We hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned Country House Hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Located in Telfod we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckatree Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.