We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing price for an overnight stay with beautiful views.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buckatree Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buckatree Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Buckatree Hall Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Telford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing price for an overnight stay with beautiful views.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The price was amazing. We booked a superior family room with breakfast for just £39 and there was no other hotels nearby for that value. When we arrived we realised that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere but this didn't really bother us as we were driving to see friends anyway. Our room had a balcony which overlooked a lake and had beautiful views over the countryside. Excellent value for money. Me and my partner also thought the breakfast was of a good quality. The continental side was a bit bare but the full English had everything you needed and when we went down (about 9) they were just putting out a lot more new food. We would definately stay again, but only at this price. Now for the negatives unfortunately. Upon arrival although friendly the receptionist didn't really seem like she knew what she was doing. We have stayed at a lot of hotels and she just was not up to scratch. Firstly she didn't know whether we had breakfast or not and tried to add it on for another £7.50. We said that it was included and she said "oh yeah, does say that here" she didn't give us any information about car parking, breakfast (location of and times) and we had to ask all of the standard questions without just the usual speach they make! Another point on the staff was the poor girl at breakfast in the morning who I can only descibe as a headless chicken, running around on her own starting to seat all the guests and then by the time she had seated one couple someone else had snuck in as there is no sign to say please wait to be seated people were just grabbing tables and she was running around all over the place. The decor in the hotel looks recently done but not really to our tastes. Looks like they could have done something really modern and they were trying but it just ended up a little busy. The bed was horrifically uncomfortable and the pillows like sleeping on cardboard. It's very obvious that the beds were not a factor in the refurb and me and my partner did not sleep well at all. We would not have stayed here if it wasn't so cheap because I would have thought that there is much better hotels out there for £50+ but at £39 for the night with breakfast we couldn't really complain. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time and thought that has gone into your review. Unfortunately we were experiencing some technical issues between our reservation system and our partner sites which is why there was some confusion over your rate which then carried over into a disorganised check-in process - may I reassure you this is not the normal standard.

We also experienced some staff shortages which were beyond our control and unfortunately by the time we were able to rectify this it was rather late on during breakfast. I hope that my honest reply to the negative areas raised can be taken into consideration and am delighted that you found many positives to balance your review.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    171
    77
    53
    33
See reviews for
57
277
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As you drive in you think your lost, keep going!
If you have lots of luggage drop off outside first as car park is up a very steep slope!
Nice hotel, did notice coach in the car park , thinking oh no a groupon deal ! But stayed in my room and only noticed them at breakfast which was overly busy as only 2 serving !
Room lovely with a little balcony, but could here every word being spoken in the room next door.
Fire alarm went of at 3:30am then went off again , with no word from any staff!
Room service food not great, Thai red curry had no taste, no spice,garlic or lemon grass but plenty of coconut milk ! Lemon posset to die for.
Wifi free but very patchy as set in a forest so tv signal also patchy.
What was most disappointing was no duvet, only a sheet and scratchy blanket, but with a nice cover, in this day and age a duvet is the norm !
I would stay again if in the area if needed to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the left of the corridor have little balcony that overlooks the garden I was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Louise,
Many thanks for your feedback. Due to our excellent location at the foot of the Wrekin we are a popular destination for all kinds of groups which does not have any adverse effect on the hotel, quite the opposite in fact.

I am disappointed that your meal did not live upto your expectations but delighted your found the lemon posset 'to die for’ I believe the choice between blankets and duvets is a personal opinion but take note of your own preference. We do not experience problems with either our Wi-Fi or TV reception but of course this may be an isolated instance on this occasion.

I apologise that our fire alarm disturbed you which was most unfortunate and unforeseen and hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at the Buckatree Hall Hotel on several occasions we were really impressed with the recent refurbishment, the bar area much improved also a better atmosphere. The meals were of an excellent standard and the staff all very friendly. Our only complaint is,could do with replacing pillows with a better quality. Beautiful area good for walking, we will return, and wish the new owners every success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've stayed at the Buckatree several times over the last few years, visiting The Ironbridge Gorge and its museums. This time, we booked on the spur of the moment for a short break, visiting Wroxeter Roman remains, Shrewsbury and Ludlow. We'd always enjoyed our previous stays and we were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had been given a makeover but not lost any of its charm. The staff are always welcoming and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens have small patios and it's nice to sit out and relax and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stay overnight on business. It appears that many areas of the hotel have been recently refurbished. Evening meal was fine with friendly staff, although breakfast was self service. Not all breakfast items were hot and coffee and toast arrived after the breakfast had been eaten.
Room was large and comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am naturally disappointed that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We serve a selection of continental items along with a full English breakfast from our hot buffet which is self service. Tea / coffee & toast is delivered to the table after it has been ordered, I apologise if there was a delay in receiving this.

I am pleased you found your room comfortable and that you were able to rate us as good despite the small 'blip' in our usual high breakfast standards.

We hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel seems to have even reviews on trip TripAdvisor, seeming to hit a score from excellent to terrible, which to be honest did put me off a little. We took the plunge and stayed in the Hotel for two nights and were pleasantly surprised.

The Hotel itself is tucked away, but easy to find. It is also near some excellent attractions such as The Wrekin hill. My first impressions were good with a smart exterior and welcoming reception (including the staff). Our room was pleasant, very clean and spacious (Room 102, with the Sleigh Bed), and the bathroom was the same. There was a need for a small amount of touch up here and there, and some things were a little worn, but to be honest no more than any Hotel that has been around a while. It seems this Hotel needs someone checking on the small details to make it excellent.

The bar meals were very good, although the layout and tables did make it awkward to eat in comfort in this area. The restaurant meals were excellent and offered a good choice of food and wine, and breakfast was also good. As other reviews it did appear that the staff were rushed off their feet, but despite this were pleasant, helpful and courteous.

A word of warning though, both nights we stayed there was something going on until late (11pm +), something the Hotel fails to inform you of. On the first night there was a Rod Stewart, tribute act and the second night a wedding reception. Although this was audible from our room it was okay and in a way funny (maybe it was the wine). For those who want to rest for an early start then it could be inconvenient, so ask before you book what’s going on.

Overall very nice and will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 102 has a Sleigh Bed, but is over the bar area (which can increase noise). If you have the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mark,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that you have noticed our range of customer reviews as it allows me the opportunity to highlight that since the Buckatree was refurbished we consistently receive good / excellent reviews.

I am delighted you enjoyed the newly refurbished bedrooms and bar area and found our food offering to be 'excellent with a good choice' We strive to produce the best quality of food and ensure a high stand of customer service, even though as you highlight we were very busy during your stay.

We run a regular programme of events throughout the year as detailed on our web site and apologise if on this occasion this had disturbed you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Buckatree is off the beaten track, but not difficult to find. It has recently been refurbished, the decor throughout all of the public rooms is refreshingly clean and the bedroom that we stayed in was immaculate.
There was a wedding fayre on during the first night of our stay, and an Abba Tribute night on during the second night of our stay - but we didn't hear any noise from any event.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The only comment I would make, on both nights we had tried to look at a menu for the restaurant prior to deciding where to eat, but by 6pm each evening this hadn't been put out!
Excellent breakfast with a very good selection of hot and cold food.
We will certainly use this hotel again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: I took pot luck and was more than happy with the room that I got. They charge a supplement for a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned Country House Hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Located in Telfod we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckatree Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.