We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunchtime Pizzas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bottelino's

Bottelino's
Penzance Drive, Swindon SN5 7JL, England
01793 887 710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 347 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good Lunchtime Pizzas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went as part of a large group for lunch. They asked us to e-mail a pre-order. When we arrived they couldn't find it. Luckily the person who organised it had taken a copy. The service was fairly fast considering how busy it was. I had a pizza which I could only just finish & kept me full up for the rest of the day. Excellent value for only £5.95. The only critisism is that they automatically add the service charge to the bill. It's clearly stated on the menu, but it's just something I don't like. I prefer to give the money direct to the waiter so that I know they'll actually get the money themselves. Apart from that, it was a very good lunch & I'm sure we'll be back for the next birthday/leaving do.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    70
    48
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Went for the topless waiters, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Booked a table for their monthly Ladies' night, where waiters wear next to nothing (Just an apron) serving you. We went last night and it was, as expected, very busy, birthday parties, hen-do, work night out etc. We were amongst the youngest group there and we are in our early 20s.
On the Ladies' night leaflet it was either 2-courses for £16.95 or 3-course for £19.95, and they wanted the order before Friday night so they could have rough idea for numbers, so we went ahead and chose the 2-course (as dessert didn't seem that great, tiramisu, banoffee pie or Ice cream) and sent in our orders. It was only then we were told they only offer the 3-course meal (despite the leaflets they give out) so we had to choose a dessert..

Location-wise, it's a pain to get to without a car, it's within walking distance (About 20minutes from Swindon bus station) but at night and when it's cold you'd wish the restaurant was located closer to the city centre!

Food- There were glasses of cocktail placed at our table on arrival, some orange fizzy alcoholic drinks that was suppose to be a Bellini I believe, but tasted like those Vitamin C effervescent tablets with a dash of alcohol in.
Perhaps it was a busy night, we could see all the starters lined up at the kitchen, which is fair enough, but even so the food quality was low, as were the food presentations. Salad were some chopped onions, a wedge of tomato, couple slices of cucumber with some lettuce thrown together with what seemed like no effort whatsoever. The mains weren't that good either, the only vegetarian option was a margherita pizza with mushrooms, I got the stuffed cannelloni, it was clear that the pasta weren't freshly made, also the minced beef had no texture at all (you know when you buy it from the supermarket, even if it's not the expensive ones it still has the lumps of meat texture) The "meat" in the cannelloni had no texture, it looked like it'd been liquidised, just bearing the colour of meat. Dessert was alright, standard banoffee pie, though portions were tiny.

Waiters- As soon as we walked in we saw male in aprons, aside the topless waiters, there were also clothed waiters and waitresses, the topless ones are indeed very good-looking and they were more the drinks rather than food waiting staff, there to seduce the ready-to-pounce female guests to buy more wine, it was a good strategy.. Our food were mainly served by this waitress, who was also very friendly, and asked if we wanted dessert straight away as we all looked stuffed by then.

To sum it up, am not sure if I would go there for food again (I would advise to order the pizza, my friend enjoyed her's, if you really want to go to the ladies'night), it felt like ready-made meal on a plate, but I gave it an average because it was a different dining experience, served by some physically fit males. It's definitely worth going once with your girl friends who enjoy a good laugh with a slightly noisy background as everyone else are just as happy and excited to be there, but maybe not twice.
Also, book at least a month in advance as they fill up quite fast, and if they offer to put you on the reserve list, don't decline as some tend to drop out as it gets closer to the night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch Time Bargain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Always go for lunch as great value. Nice food and service quick and efficient. Don't go in evening unless with big party as very noisy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It depends when you go and what for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have eaten here many times for many different occasions with varying success... Have had some really lovely and great value meals here...but this last one was not that great an experience. They'd run out of everything, there was a huge party in meaning big delays, the service wasn't great and the food was a bit disappointing this time. Lunchtimes seem to be more successful and when less busy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

An ok italian, very good for larger parties as they have plenty of space and the service is pretty good

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottelino's also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Bottelino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottelino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.