We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for gluton free meals and dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merlin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Merlin
drove Road, Swindon, England
01793431496
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 347 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Swindon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great choice for gluton free meals and dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great food with a range of Gluton free meals and desserts on menu. Colleagues very helpfull and went out of there way to help. Eat there a lot as local to Me but they have raised the standards of service and chouice of meals. Only down side is very busy on home games for Swindon Town. Like most places football does seem to rule whats on the screens.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Went with colleagues after being on a course. Friendly staff, large TVs and football was showing. Good value meals and offers on different nights.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“warm chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We called in to try The Merlin for a meal as we have been going for a drink for a couple of weeks. It can be a little noisy with football supporters ( it is only a few hundred yards from the football ground ).We ordered a Hunters dog (hot dog with cheese bacon and barbeque sauce ) and a chicken and bacon salad . After only waiting 15 minutes our meals arrived my salad was ok but my wife's chips were only warm . A pity really as the meals were not that bad. The bar staff really go out of their to be friendly . Overall a good pub if you can get the food hot .!!! I will still go for a drink as I like the atmosphere. Worth a visit if .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breaking glasses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

feel sorry for bar staff , but hey wheres the training ! owners not there ! same people breaking how many glasses ! 1 2 3 yes , then still serving them shots !!!!!!!!
now will i come in again lol ociw lol dont do boring

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch time meal,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice / clean / Friendly/Pub, food was nice and tasty, Will definitly visit again, the Merlin is also very close to Swindon Town Football Club, so can be very busy when home matches are played,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merlin also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.