We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great value accommodation close to the Cotswolds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carpenters Arms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Carpenters Arms Motel to your Saves list
The Carpenters Arms Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Old Vicarage Lane | South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, great value accommodation close to the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I have stayed at the Carpenters Arms Motel, both for leisure and business, on several occasions since I discovered it in 2008. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, and excellent home-cooked food and Real Ale are on offer in the pub. The proprietors, Bob and Barbara, are really friendly and the service is excellent. All this comes at a very reasonable rate as well. This is a great base for either business in Swindon or leisure travel to and through the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
15
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Working on a long term contract in Swindon, I decided to try the Carpenter's Arms Hotel and from day one was extremely impressed.

The hotel is situated in a pleasant location which is nice and quiet which is ideal for a good night's sleep when away on business.

The rooms are spacious, warm, comfortable and extremely clean and very good value for money. The power shower is excellent.

Bob and Barbara are the perfect hosts and the food is realy enjoyable and reasonably priced. I would recommend the chicken goujons as they are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We had a three night stay with friends,Robert,Barbara and Rufus made us most welcome.
The food and beer was very good, and next time we are in the area it will be top of the list for our base camp

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Elaine and I stayed here for the 4th time a week or so ago.

I used the online booking system at extremely short notice and it worked brilliantly.

Bob was there to meet us and show us to our room....it was the same room we've had before so we kinda knew where everything was.

Bed still huge and comfy, shower still brutal as ever.

The food in the pub was wholesome, even if I'd prefer a bit more violence in the curry!

So we still declare this place clean, comfy and great value for your money.

Thanks Bob, see you next year.

Dave

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed as a group of 13 for two nights and had an wonderful time. Bob and Barbara were the perfect hosts. We ordered an evening meal for 6-00pm on arrival and all ate together, no delays, no issues with the food or service. The rooms were spacious, clean and had all the basic requirements needed for a comfortable stay. I would certainly recommend the Carpenters Arms to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay. The only critisism would be Englands 0-0 draw with Algeria, which we all endured in the comfortable lounge area...had to cry in many many beers during that game.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Using this hotel as working locally for a month.
I was attracted by the motel parking for the car outside, and the location set in countryside and village of South Marston.

Arrival was met with friendly atmosphere by Bob.
Room was no.9 - was both clean and functional.
Heated towel rail was a nice touch - and ceiling fan was useful too in the hot weather.
Wifi signal was good in my room.

Bathroom was very clean and the power shower was very good.

Now to the single bed - I found the bed very uncomfortable - but I got used to it.
The bed was lumpy because of the springs coming through the mattress.

Quietness of hotel was fine - high speed train line with intercity trains was not an issue when you wanted to sleep as they stopped running then or at least they seemed to.

The real ales from Arkells were well kept.

Overall very good experience and for a cash deal good value.

Good location for running too either into village or the fields just next to hotel and even up to gymwhich was 2 mins drive from hotel at larger hotel in the village South Marston Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, Owner at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Whilst I am generally pleased with this guest view, I do find the comment about the bed rather odd. We have this morning checked the bed after reading the review and whilst the presence of the springs is evident, as all sprung mattresses would be, they are certainly not protruding.

The mattress also has a cushioned under sheet. The guest concerned is still resident and has never mentioned this to us. Had we known we could have attempted to rectify the problem initially by a room change, as for the mattress itself, it is commercial quality and appears in good condition.

We will certainly address the issue with the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Stayed here for one night after visiting a freind in swindon, the room was big, as was the bathroom, no carpets so it felt cold but heated up after a while, small tv/dvd player in the room was nice, bed felt old and very well used but not unbearable, the bath was nice and big, and the shower was hot and powerful.

Nothing really spectacular, the motel is in a secluded little area which was really quiet apart from the trains going past every few minutes.

Food at the pub was good, not pricey and nice portions, the drinks are nice and cheap (I recomend the 3B ale brewed locally).

Overall, not a bad place at all, but I wouldn't stay longer than one night and not really worth it if you don't have a car, as the taxi to swindon is £8.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, Owner at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
We welcome honest assessments of our rooms. I would say however the beds are certainly not old.

The issue of the trains is rarely mentioned, I guess it's just about levels of sleep.

The floors are designed for ease of maintenance and being motel style carpets would very quickly become soiled.

We have regular users of our rooms who stay Monday through Friday for months at a time. Oddly the quiet location is the reason given by most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carpenters Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms Motel

Address: Old Vicarage Lane | South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, is on the Wiltshire/Oxfordshire border and provides you with quality rooms at guest house prices. In the country but just minutes from Swindon, Shrivenham, Wanborough, Blunsdon RMCS, Honda as well many other towns.Our reputation for quality accommodation, food and Arkells Real Ales has grown to reach the number one for accommodation in Swindon, on the biggest review site in the world, TripAdvisor. If you wish to stay Monday to Thursday you need to book early as we have long term satisfied guests who stay weekly. Why choose the rest when you can choose the best. The Carpenters provides an ideal haven for the business traveller or tourist seeking peace and tranquility. The Carpenters Arms lies approximately 3 miles north of Swindon and is ideally placed for visits to Bath, Cheltenham, Stratford-upon-Avon and a host of Cotswold beauty spots. If you are looking for a boisterous, noisy, over the top establishment, The Carpenters is not for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Carpenters Arms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carpenters Arms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.