We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indoor Shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swindon Designer Outlet

Swindon Designer Outlet
Kemble Drive, Swindon SN2 2DY, England
+44 (0) 1793 507600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 61 things to do in Swindon
Attraction details
Worcester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Indoor Shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited this place last Saturday as my husband wanted to go to the Clarks shop. I read the reviews on here first so knew not to get there before 10.00 as the shops didn't open until then. It took us about an hour and 10 minutes from where we live and on arriving found the car park to be quite empty, think this was due to the fact that the shops had just opened!

There are various shops to visit such as Clarks, M and S, Hobbs, Pavers, John Lewis home to name but a few. You need to hunt out the bargains but they can be found. I went into Next and found some great trousers but they don't have a changing room for you to try them on but was told you could take them back to any store for a refund! Not very helpful if you are buying them to wear that night or if you haven't got a Next in your town!!

We went into most shops and it took about 3 hours in total so a great place to go when the weather isn't so good or if you want some bargain designer clothes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    142
    76
    29
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Easy to find, and park £1 for 0-5hrs, £12 after that. a nice food court and plenty of shops with some good bargains.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Got there and it was closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Unlike everywhere else on planet earth, Swindon outlet doesn't open until 10 am, even on the busiest shopping day of the week. Saturday. Having arrived at 9am, parked up and discovered this very weird fact, I paid my car parking fee and left the droves of other shoppers who were wandering around looking bewildered that it was Saturday morning in the UK and no shops we re open. Waste of time. I won't be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the layout as you didn't miss anything! The staff in the shops we visited (which was the majority) were really nice and helpful. A good mix of shops, lots of eating facilities and things to keep youngsters amused. Car parking is £1 for up to 5 hours but if you spend over £100 its free, we didn't pay for parking!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon,Wilts. U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Defence of Swindon Outlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I live in Swindon and was disappointed to see so many negative reviews of the outlet experience. I have visited other outlets, including Bicester and The Street and found them crowded and overpriced with hard to access parking and very limited eating facilities. Swindon in contrast is spacious, undercover (so great in our frequent bad weather), has good parking facilities and a good range of shops catering for more modest incomes e.g. Next, M & S and those lucky people with a bit more to spend such as Jaeger and Hobbs. It caters for all age ranges with a play area for younger children and shops such as Gap, Superdry and Bench which my twenty something sons prefer. Unfortunately recently one or two of my favourite shops have closed ( e.g.Phase Eight) probably due to the dificult retail market at present, but overall I continue to enjoy a visit every few weeks and think it is one of the better retail outlets. I have also taken visiting friends and they have agreed that it is a great place to shop. The nearby National Trust shop/cafe and Steam Museum are also well worth a visit so if coming from outside Swindon you could spend an enjoyable day at the site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swindon Designer Outlet also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Swindon Designer Outlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swindon Designer Outlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.