We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Highclere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good nights sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent the Saturday night before Xmas at this hotel, we were somewhat perturbed that there were a lot of people staying to enjoy a night out in Swindon. Upon allocating our first room, when we got there, the noise coming from the room opposite was excessive, so we went back to reception and were allocated another room which appeared fine. Once in the room, a lot of noise (music) started coming from the next room, called reception and they were up straight away to deal with the problem. About 30 minutes later, the same happened again. Once again, reception came up and dealt with the noise, and it remained that way for the rest of the night and we had a really good sleep.
Top marks to the hotel management and staff who dealt with this very professionally and efficiently, and thank you for a pleasant stay in a comfortable room with panoramic views over the railway....

Room Tip: Stay on the North side, railway not close enough to be of any problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    126
    59
    34
    25
See reviews for
35
54
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel as a part of a coach trip to the Bath/Bristol Markets. On first impressions the room was clean and although a little basic it suited our needs for an overnight stay. Unfortunately, we were unable to get to sleep due to the noise from the night club behind the hotel. The noise was extremely loud (so much so you could have sung along to it) and is not really helped by the windows in our room which probably could have done with better double or triple glazing given the city centre location and the proximity of the night club. Whilst I appreciate the hotel are limited in what they can do about the noise with the exception of 3 people it disturbed everyone on our coach which isn't ideal. It seems a shame as the staff were very nice and helpful however I would be reluctant to stay at the hotel again on a Friday/Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi MrsM931

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not sleep well due to the town being so busy. I hope you give us another try. It is great that you have taken the time to recognise our team.

Thanks again for your review

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the most modern Express I've ever stayed in but it was clean, reasonably quiet and good value for money.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

About a 5min walk to the station is the main reason I stayed here on a very brief stopover for an early morning meeting.

Slightly strange that reception is up in the lift.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi Kev-B-Lin

Thank you for your feedback.

It's great that you recognised our staff, they'll appreciate it. I am really pleased that you got value for money. We hope that you visit us again on your next stopover.

Thanks again

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on a Newmarket Holidays trip. I found it to be an excellent location, as usual, spotlessly clean rooms, warm, comfy bed, no problem at all. The reception up a few floors was rather strange but no real issue. I was on the 5th floor so did not hear any noise that other reviewers have mentioned, had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was good, efficient and pleasant staff so would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: probably ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi Stephen89

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you that you had a comfy nights sleep. Our Housekeeper will be excited to read your spotlessly clean comment. The staff always try to be efficient and helpful, thank you for recognising them.

See you again soon.

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a budget hotel and for a budget it's a 4/5. You get what you pay for, but it found the staff really friendly and helpful. Food was ok to be honest and reasonably priced. Centrally located next to the centre and train station. Room was spacious and warm, bed was fair.
If you want top hotels go elsewhere but in here you get what you pay for.
Ok for a night.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is no different to your usual Holiday Inn Express so you know what you get for your money. However you will be hard pressed to better the staff that make you feel so welcome. Worth mentioning Miroslav, Nikolleta, Melody and Mikel, who really go that extra mile to ensure you have a pleasant stay

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night on business - reception is on third floor so you have to get the lift which is not great if it is a coach party arriving. Staff on reception very helpful and friendly. Normal Holiday Inn Express bedroom but rather noisy as it was a Friday night and my room overlooked a couple of night clubs which had spilled out of the building probably due to the smoking rule. Ok hotel but would not rush to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from overlooking night clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Joanne H,

Thank you for writing us a feedback. I am glad to see that you were able to take delight in the manner of reception that was given upon checking in and even regarded our staff to be helpful and friendly.

However, please accept my sincerest apologies if the noise levels inconvenienced you in any way. I assure you that this matter has already been taken into account and was forwarded to the appropriate department. Please be confident that all comments positive or negative are always taken seriously.

We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Swindon, UK.

Sincerely,

Glenn M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.