We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pear Tree at Purton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pear Tree at Purton to your Saves list
The Pear Tree at Purton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this hotel from the internet and were not disappointed. The setting is very good and the overall quality is high. The staff are helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable but little things like turning on the towel rails or the heating had not been done. We also felt that sheets and blankets were a little out of date and we would much prefer the duvet style of bedding. The food was excellent but the menu didn't seem to change and was the same as the one we'd seen on the website several weeks before. For our two night stay it wasn't a problem but beyond that some might find the menu restrictive.
All this might sound negative but they are small points and overall our stay was enjoyable and fair value. We'd spoken with the hotel before booking and they helped us to avoid clashing with a big party on one of our possible nights which for us would have been a major spoiler.
We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We understand that dogs are allowed in the downstairs rooms, if this is a problem ask for an upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    55
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
42
124
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
w sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

can't recommend the pear tree enough, the staff are really friendly and welcoming, the hotel and grounds are beautiful in a perfect setting, the room we had was very comfortable with a great view, overall a fantastic experience for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we were given a lovely personal welcome at this beautiful hotel. Our room was exceptional and had the added advantage of being dog friendly - we were aware that not everybody wants the close proximity of dogs so kept contact to a minimum.
The food was excellent and service very good - even sampled the wine produced from the hotels small vineyard. The garden was in full colour and contained many varieties of flower, and I was fortunate enough to see a couple of local deer. Location was also very good with visits north to Cotswold villages and south to the Wiltshire downs.
Certainly recommend this hotel for a short and relaxing break.

Room Tip: patio rooms are excellent for dog owners - access to the outdoors direct from room and quiet and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we were bought this weekend as a gift and what a gift it was, every last detail was looked after, our evening meal was fantastic, cooked to perfection, all the staff were really friendly

i would recomend this to any one

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back overlooking the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights with wife to celebrate her 60th. Fabulous food, peaceful location, lovely room and most important of all, friendly, caring, helpful staff.

Seasonal menu has one vegetarian option, but the chef quickly came up with a great alternative for our second dinner

Will visit again!

Room Tip: rooms facing the rear overlook the lovely garden and avoid the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband took me here for 2 nights over valentines. The place was spotless. Very friendly and the food was gorgeous!!! The pear tree purton was about 30mins away from longleat safari which is where we went the day after arrival and about another half hour away from Stonehenge. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here with my wife after a small ceremony for our Wedding in August 2011. We chose to have a simple small ceremony prior to our "Big Day" at Stanton House (see other review). Following our afternoon ceremony together with 4 guests we sat down for a great meal in the Pear Tree's highly rated restaurant and I can happily say it deserves it reputation. The food was fantastic and also not over priced. The menu was extensive and Francis and all of the staff mad this day extra special. The accommodation was excellent and the gardens are so picturesque that we had several photographs in the hotel grounds. It was an excellent day in every way and we are looking forward to spending our first anniversary there too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pear Tree at Purton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.