We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Swindon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Swindon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Swindon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Swindon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Redgrave
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First time in Swindon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First time in a Holiday inn, Swindon. staff very professional, checkin of particular note - lady very helpful. Food was very good, fish cooked to perfection. Definitely stay again. Car parking good, plus clods to petrol station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mike T

Thank you for your recent review on the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate your feedback and kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to relay your comments back to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    97
    68
    41
    20
See reviews for
57
49
25
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn because we thought that the standard would be predictably good bearing in mind the price of the room was way above average in the area.
The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and facilities available.
The hotel standard is very poor, desperately in need of upgrade in every respect. The room was awful, the windows were ancient and needed net curtains or blinds, very restricting. I have never seen a bathroom so small and the shower was so old, just incredible. Despite this the cleaners had obviously done their best and made a good job of cleaning a very bad product, one could not be critical of the domestic staff who are being hopelessly let down by Holiday Inn.
We were totally amazed that we were charged so much for a room like that it was laughable.
The reception, bar and corridors were absolutely dreadful and Holiday Inn should be ashamed that they have not invested any capital in this workplace - this should not be called a hotel or an Inn.

Room Tip: All dreadful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear BeccyMoore

Thank you for your recent review on the Holiday Inn Swindon.
We sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this enables us to see what improvements we need to do to enhance our guest's stay in the future. If you wish to contact me to discuss this matter further then please do not hesitate. My email is tom.gaskell@ihg.com
Your input will be shared with our management team.
We do hope you will think of us again for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Service and food was great but the room was no better than a travel lodge budget room.
Good facilities on site with a gym and pool for those wanting some exercise.
DBB deal we had was good value but room was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear darrencoe

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our valued guests like yourself It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. I hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Your comments will be relayed back to the team.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having stayed in other Holiday Inns, I found Swindon's to be just OK. When we arrived there was no record of our booking (however I think was the fault of the website I booked with, not HI). Receptionist was friendly, but a little vague about whether we would actually get a room or not, and I think she'd had a very busy evening. My room was at the end of a very long corridor and was tired looking, a bit shabby round the edges, the inside lock didn't work, and the water from the bathroom tap had a bit of an odd taste to it. Good points were a comfortable bed, choice of pillows and nice shower. Ordered a coffee from the bar, completely ridiculous and disorganised service there! Breakfast was good, lots to choose from, but staff stood around chatting. Good location though and a good price paid, but just not the best Holiday Inn I've visited.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Claire R

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

It is our goal to consistently provide great customer service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We apologise for any discomfort or upset caused during your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. If you wish to contact me to discuss these matters more then please do not hesitate to do so. My email address is tom.gaskell@ihg.com.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding reception and found the hotel to be well located for easy access from the motorway or from the town itself. There is also Coate Water park across the road as a good place to take the kids for a couple of hours.
The hotel rooms we had were clean and tidy with everything you would expect in a chain hotel. The rooms were on the small side but that is expected in this type of hotel. The bathrooms were especially small but clean and everything worked properly.
The fixtures and fittings are a bit dated but still perfectly acceptable.
The staff at this hotel were great, everyone we spoke to was really helpful, from front of house to bar staff to waiting and room staff. The staff at this hotel will make you feel welcome, even taking the time to speak to the children, and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Tony G

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit here, we are in a good location for every individual, easy access to the motorway, close to the country park with splash park for the children, easy route to the town centre where there is also a local bus service that stops outside the front of the hotel and also ideal for visiting local attractions i.e Avebury, Marlborough, Lydiard Park ect.
I am glad that the team here made your stay special I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Booked last minute was perfect for what we wanted staff very nice and helpful nice room. The beautician in the health club is lovely and was best massage I ever had and really reasonable prices for all her treatments! Health club was great too. 10 minute walk up road was hungry horse pub staff in there was great and nice food. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear A1m9y92

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate the feedback you have given us, its always nice when a guest recognises the service we provide for our guests and enjoys the facilities we have available in the hotel.
We will relay your kind comments back to the team and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

THere's not really a great deal to say about this hotel; it is right out of the Holiday Inn mould but none the worse for that because you know what you should be getting and this hotel delivers. We stayed for only one night, checked in late had breakfast and checked out! Everythng went smoothly and we had a comfortable night. Breakfast, if unremarkable, was perfectly satisfactory. On balance this hotel is excellent value for money and, being only a short distance from the M4, has a lot going for it. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear 470John470

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and everything was to your satisfaction. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your honest feedback and will take any suggestions on board. All comments will be passed on the team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Swindon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.