We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moshan Island Grill

Moshan Island Grill
33/34 Newport Street, Swindon, England
+44 1793 495256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 347 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
swindon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have to start my review by saying that there was absolutely nothing wrong with the food, service or staff, but if you're looking for a restaurant with ambience, this isn't the place. Although, we did eat there on a Tuesday night and it was full, there might be more atmosphere on a weekend. I think with both the outside and interior decor, people could be put off, but the food more than makes up for this.

We ate the salted cod fritters and the jerk chicken skewers for starters which were both gorgeous. Really nicely presented. After this I had the chicken with brown gravy and my husband had the salted cod curry. We had this with the plantation, rice and peas and seasoned fries - all the food was delicious!

Prices are very reasonable and with a couple of glasses of wine each, the total bill was £55.00.

It is advisable to book.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    59
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

4 of us had a meal there several weeks ago. We had an excellent time, the food was cooked fresh to order and tasted delicious. Our friends had never been there before and were very impressed. For starters we had the pork on skewers and for mains 3 of us the fish curry, my wife had the jerk chicken. Cant recommend this place highly enough was very good value for money too. Service a little laid back but hey..you're in the Caribbean!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yet Again Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

You cannot go wrong by eating at Moshan Island Grill. Never had a bad meal always top notch. Jerk chicken and fries was awesome

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well what an experience- so different from the same old same old. Rich intricate flavours, surprising delicious dishes. We'll be going again very soon. You'd never believe form the outside just what a brilliant time awaits you inside!

And I can't recommend the Rum Punch highly enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful food, dangerous cocktails!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have been here a few times and every time, the food is amazing! It's so laid back but with brilliant service. The cocktail are lethal and the rum and raisen ice cream tipped my partner over the edge into being a full blown drunkard!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moshan Island Grill also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Moshan Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moshan Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.