We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend with everything on site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Swindon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Swindon to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Swindon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend with everything on site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here as part of a relaxing weekend with friends. From the minute we arrived till the moment we left, I could not fault the staff or the establishment. There was a choice of places yo eat. The pub food was fresh and excellent. The choice was varied and the quality great. Breakfast at Starbcks was good too. The Spa couldn't do enough to make us welcome and relaxed and the atmosphere in the gym was welcoming and friendly too. I highly recommend this as an all inclusive UK venue

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the garden courtyard might be noisy if weddings are taking place, but otherwise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks very much for your positive review, we really appreciate you taking the time.
It was nice to read how much you and your Friends enjoyed your Break with us and how highly you rated the Hotel.
Hope to see you again soon and the Team will be delighted to hear your kind words.
Very best wishes

Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    208
    115
    34
    19
See reviews for
93
172
29
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a two night b&b with dinner on one night. I think we had a basic room it had a fan but no air con TV but no fridge. The room was a good size and clean and well set out. The bar staff are friendly and check in was very good. There was a very good selection for breakfast to suit most people. Now coming on to the dinner it's in the Italian restaurant and seems expensive for what is a mediocre menu bland and tasteless would best describe it and it took over a hour for a two course meal not impressed and would not recommend it to anyone

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your Review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and had positive comments about the Team but sorry you felt Dinner in Buca was not up to scratch.
We do have a variety of Bedrooms that have Air Conditioning and I am unsure if they were available or not at the time of your Reservation.
Thanks again, we appreciate you giving us a Review.
Best wishes
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Having stayed here a number of times in a fab room, the breakfast always is the icing on the cake. The breakfast manager, Ersin, is always friendly and very welcoming and the personal touch is that he always remembers us. Keep up the great work xxx

Room Tip: Ask for an A/C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your recent Review and for coming back to the Hotel so often.
I was really pleased to read how much you look forward to Ersin and the Breakfast Team who look after you each time you stay.
See you next time and thanks again
Best wishes
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been staying at the Village Urban Resort, on and off for the last 6 months. The hotel is good, food is nice, bedrooms are clean, but a little dark.

Be careful is staying in summer, not all rooms have air conditioning, and it can get very warm!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your recent Review, we really appreciate your comments and it was nice to know you have enjoyed your time with us over the last few months.
You are quite right in saying not all Bedrooms have Air Conditioning but if you are returning again soon e sure to ask at Reception on arrival to check their availability.
Best wishes and thanks again
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed at the Village Urban Resort with 15 friends for a birthday celebration. We had booked it online as a pamper package and were really pleased with the hotel, treatments and service overall. The hotel is large, with great facilities ( pool, sauna, gym, spa and a great range of treatments). The rooms were large, clean with all the usual amenities. The room was very modern and well presented, although our room was a little dark. We stayed in the hotel for the duration, as we had gone there to relax, enjoy a meal and have a few drinks. Breakfast was lovely, served in the Italian Restaurant, with all of the usual buffet breakfast on offer. The only downside of the stay was our evening meal in the pub/bar, which was very delayed and served at our table poorly, with meals being brought out at different times, leading us to be unable to eat together as a group. As it was for a birthday this was very disappointing, which when we raised it with the restaurant manager, he didn't seem to grasp that it has in some way spoilt our evening. However, my rating is for the hotel and I have assumed the poor service in the restaurant was due to our table being a large group and perhaps the kitchen couldn't handle the demand, and perhaps some training issues for the duty manager, who could have handled it better. However, the remainder of the staff were professional, friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The spa staff were really lovely, managing to fit all of our group back to back in pairs, so that we all had time together in the pool , Jacuzzi etc . All in all a great value stay, with great facilities and ideal for a getaway. I would stay again for another spa package-great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your Review, we really appreciate your comments following your Spa Weekend with us.
It was great to read you all had an enjoyable time in the Spa and with the Beauticians and I will pass on you kind words. I know the Pub was busy that night and with a big order my apologies for the slight delay.
The Spa offers are really great value for money and it was great to read you hope to be coming back soon.

Very best wishes
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Before booking my boyfriend and I didn't realise this was a De Vere hotel. When we arrived we were happy to see we were right next to two Indian restaurants, tenpin bowling and cineworld and an Asda. We were looking for a relaxing weekend away and not planning on going too far to do anything, which we didn't have to do. Inside the hotel was a comfy sitting area with a Starbucks, great for coffee lovers, which we happened to be! The staff over the weekend were more than helpful and very pleasant.

We booked an Upper Deck room which was great. Starbucks coffee in the room, Sky on the TV and a great bed! We were so impressed we are planning a trip again in the near future for the King Size Suite! We had dinner in the Victory pub and it was a great atmosphere and lively. My boyfriend had blazin' beans for a starter and a curry for his main, no complaints there as be wolfed them all back. I had the half rack of ribs and chips, it was very good! The only complaint, is they didn't have a very big selection of drinks, I would of liked to have more choice.

The breakfast was very tasty and they had a good selection. It was a standard breakfast that you receive in most hotels. The pool was good, a nice size, the jacuzzi was quite small though, but it still did the job! The gym looked pretty big, but we obviously didn't use it as it wasn't why we were there.

The only few complaints I would have is that they should try to situate guests according to type. We were opposite a family with a small child, who on Sunday morning was shouting from 7am. The lifts over the weekend were broke, so closed off. This was okay for us as we were on the first floor, but not handy when they are busy and have lots of people checking in and out. Lastly, the mug my boyfriend had in Starbucks had lipstick stains on, which he only noticed halfway through drinking it.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a nice little break away :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for you comprehensive Review of the Hotel, I appreciate you taking the time and delighted to read your positive comments.
Sorry about the noise from other Families in the Hotel, we do allocate Bedrooms accordingly wherever possible but as we are a Family destination in August there will inevitably be a mix of Adults and Children staying with us.
The Lift has now been repaired, it was very unfortunate for the Guests last week end and pleased it didnt spoil your time with us.
Thanks again, great feedback and see you again soon.
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

One of the best places in town to stay. Got a king suite here and it was fabulous. Wonderful breakfast buffet and good service at the restaurant and bar. They even helped me with my stuff I had forgotten behind while checking-out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your Review, we really appreciate your time.
Great to see you enjoyed the Suite and the Buffet Breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes and thanks again
Andrew Spink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Urban Resort Swindon has 147 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Swindon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.