We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely refurbished hotel, lovely health suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Swindon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Swindon to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Swindon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nicely refurbished hotel, lovely health suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel 3 times now and have had a lovely time each time we have stayed. The rooms are large and have been decorated to a high standard. We usually upgrade for £20 to an Upper Deck room which if travelling with children is well worth it due to the extra space. The food in the bar was pretty rubbish, so avoid that if you can! There are many other places to eat as the Hotel is situated on a leisure park, there is a bowling alley, Pizza Hut, Laser Quest and an Indian too. All in all we will more than likely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Upper Deck rooms are worth it if travelling with children as there is much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    211
    115
    34
    19
See reviews for
93
172
29
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner & I stayed at De Vere Village Swindon on a Friday night for a change of scenery and to use the spa facilities.

On the face of it the 'resort' seemed to have it all....spa, selection on restaurants, starbucks, upgraded 'Upper Deck' room etc.

The room itself was clean and had all extras expected (Sky movies, Starbucks instant coffee, Bose docking station). Had nice modern touches like a tripod lamp and stylish desk.

The bathroom was a bit of a let down though.....it clearly hasn't been revamped with the bedroom. There were holes in the tiles, blackened grout and limescale ridden shower screen.

We used the spa facilities on Saturday morning which was a mistake as it seemed to be kiddies hour so we didn't stay for long before grabbing a Starbucks coffee and making our way to the Swindon Outlet Centre which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottighamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night in an upper deck room, to break up a journey home from cornwall.

The room it's self was ok, reasonably clean (although there was a thick layer of dust on the shelf above the wardrobe hanging space) I went to put our bags up there out of the way but changed my mind) We booked an upper deck room purely for sky movies, we were staying on a Saturday evening, we have a young daughter and knew we'd be spending most of the evening in the room so thought it would be an opportunity to watch a movie.

We ate in the Italian restaurant, staff were attentive but food was basic. It was served incredibly quickly. Starters within 5 mins of our order been taken and main meals were clearly waiting for us to finish as these were brought out as our starter plates were returned to the kitchen. It took 30 mins from our order being placed to been given the bill.

When we returned to our room to put our 6 month old to bed at 7, we were disappointed to realise the neighbouring fair was very audible shortly followed by Swindon's boy racers tearing around the car park of the cinema etc next door.

The next morning we went for breakfast, hmmmm to be honest it was like eating in a greasy spoon! The sausages looked lovely and brown but were still raw, the mushrooms were exploding balls of grease and the toast was warm bread. Unless you want to raise your cholesterol 50% stick to the continental option.

On the plus side the bed was comfy and the room was so dark we didn't need our blackout blind for our daughter.

I've stayed in a number of devere hotels unfortunately I won't be returning to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for an event in the hotel.
Rooms were comfortable, clean, tidy and quite although somewhat dark even with all the lamps on.
Surprised by how delicious the food in the Italian restaurant actually was as expected normal microwaved fare - breakfast offered a lot of choice.
Communal areas are comfortable.
The pool and hottub were very highly chlorinated - both made my eyes feel like they'd been sanded.
It is a short distance from a nice park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanumangarh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed two times in Hotel - Good Atmosphere , helping staff , Good Food . Its very cold weather outside so cant roam much on the Property but very Good value for the money . Good Indian restaurant around the Corner .Easy access to Swindon city and Airport .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So the Mrs is a boyband groupie. With the Big Reunion gig coming up to Swindon we had to go for my sins because Blue, Five and Peter Andre were on. Where to stay? Being Mr last minute I looked for a booking within the week before the gig.
Most of the hotels were surpringly pricey and so trying to juggle costs,value for money and a bit of excitement I settled on The Devere. I will call them The Devere of Swindon.
I will break it down for you to elaborate on what I mean when I say juggling costs,value for money and excitement.
We arrived Friday night with a view to check out Sunday.
The Devere of Swindon are located in a little shall I say village. All the basic necessities are right outside your door step.
There's a pub in the hotel , an Italian retraunt on the premises. A gymn with a swimming Pool and a jacuzzi. Now get this I've been in a few hotels around the country and gymn,pool and jacuzzi are now let's say the norm but not at The Devere of Swindon!
They just hard to push the boat a little and have a swimming instructor! This young lady was fantastic! She was poster girl material. Since the Mrs was allowed to drool at Blue I guess I was allowed to drool at her.
She had the ladies doing water aerobics. It was really enjoyable to watch because the ladies were having fun and loving it.
The swimming area is spacious and just relaxing.
I quickly escaped the Mrs whilst she was doing the water aerobics and headed out to their courtyard.
They have a courtyard there which has some kind of Roman feeling. Not in terms of structure or built but the atmosphere. It was calm and serene and occasionally you'd hear children laughing which was entirely fine and only added to that vibe of merriment. That's the Saturday they had Bolt in London if I recall correctly so I watched this young man dash to victory whilst sitting outside the Devere of Swindon. The only thing missing was a magharrita a beach and some sand.The staff were really good, breakfast buffet in the Italian restaurant excellent, pub meal was yummy. The gentleman at the bar was kind enough to advise on the menu which wasn't pricey but it helps if you can save here and there. Their front room staff as well were excellent! I could not sing their praises highly enough!
If you do find yourself in Swindon you won't lose anything by checking them out.
If you do go there after reading this please let me know how you get on.
"Cape diem"
As always it's a pleasure to recommend places I have been and thought were truly amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May/June 2013. The hotel is set on a retail park and is easy to find. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The checkin was simple, the rooms are of a good standard, the staff/service is good and there are a good range of hotel amenities.

I always used the gym as it is one of the best I have encountered at a hotel. I stay in hotels weekly so I have seen a number of hotel gyms.

Food is very good and there is a good variety offered from either a pub/bar or an Italian restaurant.

In room facilities are also very good, large flat screen TV's, large beds etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Urban Resort Swindon has 147 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Swindon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.