We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Vinci Restaurant

Da Vinci Restaurant
62 Fleet Street, Swindon SN1 1RA, England
01793 617896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 325 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very good meal at a reasonable price. The atmosphere was friendly and I could forgive the waiters for their attempts at singing, as the service was excellent. The specials board was fully explained to us, and the monkfish I opted for was a decent portion and accompanied by a sauce that was not overpowering for the fish. Even the house red was of a decent quality. Definately worth a visit

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    49
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is Swindon best kept secret, an amazing family run restaurant, the waiters attentative, and they sing! Ambience simply perfect. The food superb! Italian food at its best! Fabulous!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“meal rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I fould the atmosphere and service excellent but perhaps a bit to "familar" with some of the customers. They should spend more time making sure that the food and wine were up to scratch that trying to win over the customers with their charm. The wine by the glass was one choice and cheap and the starter and the main were covered in sauce which covers a multitude of sins, The prawns were from a packet covered in sauce and the checken has definately seen better days. I have felt poorly since eating there, The management handled my feedback very well and perhaps I was just unlucky. I wish them no harm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Possibly the best Italian meal I've ever had including those eaten in Italy! Excellent food, generous portions, friendly service and very reasonably priced - can't recommend it enough - go and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staff are friendly and charming, food is always piping hot and great value. Nothing is too much trouble. I've eaten here many times with large groups of work colleagues and no one ever has a poor meal. They cater really well for groups and the menu is always varied with plenty of choice,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vinci Restaurant also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Da Vinci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Vinci Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.