We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly one of the best B&B's anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Post Office Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Post Office Guest House to your Saves list
The Old Post Office Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Thornhill Road, Swindon SN3 4RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Swindon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Possibly one of the best B&B's anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here a few nights for new years. We were visiting the village since I used to live there to meet some old friends and celebrate new years. The Post Office has comfy beds, with possibly the friendliest owner in the world. Great breakfast served with some nice edible flowers from the owners garden, good tea but the coffee was a bit weak for a Finn. Only downside was that the bathroom was a bit small in our room but you can't have everything. Our stay at the post office is still one of the best hotell stays we've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here several times, staying 5 nights on each occasion. The first time it was because everywhere else was full, but subsequently it has been from choice. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, complete with Sky TV and refreshments. The breakfasts are well presented and, if requested, huge. Jackie is a larger than life character and both she and Roger go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home. An additional bonus is that, for a small fee, guests have use of the pool and fitness centre at a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My last review was two years ago, and if anything, Jackie gets better. The warmest welcome you can imagine, and absolutely the best breakfast for 100 miles. The photo shows local farm pork sausage, thick bacon, amazing grilled mushrooms, black pudding, egg, beans and a pansy flower. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. (Jackie keeps the paint brushes at the ready). Free wifi , great beds. Now, a word about the location: from the map you'd think this was a place for business folk visiting Swindon, but it's a pretty building in the heart of a quiet village, and a pleasure to stay in whatever the reason for your visit. If you're visiting around the Cotswolds and want to feel really comfortable without paying a lot, stay here. Thank you Jackie.

Room Tip: Personally I like room 5, with a view over the garden and a nice double bed, but the sloping ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I stepped through the door I felt like one of the family. The service was amazing, soo friendly.
The room was spotless and furnished to a very high standard and included sky tv.
Overall an amazing little Bnb and I can't wait to return next time I am in the area. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and must say it was nothing but amazing. Jackie gave us a big warm hug on our way in, showed us around and even gave us a few notes of her opera singing. In one sense I don't wan to review it as I'd like it to b exclusive but such a great B&B deserves to be highly rated. The room was very comfortable, the bed was big and the location perfect for getting around. The Full English breakfast made from local produce was perfect and I can't honestly fault it in any way. If you're planning to stay round this area you must check this beautiful place out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Old Post Office Guest House has been in the same family for four generations and lovingly looked after. For it's hosts Jackie and Roger nothing is too much trouble. Light and airy rooms, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. The Full English Breakfast is like no other we have ever had. They offer a Continental Breakfast too. Mmmmm! If you don't visit the Old Post Office you will have no idea what you will be missing!!! Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Old Post Office Guest House after a friends wedding. Since staying overnight in a beautifully comfortable bed, with the added bonus of Sky TV at our finger tips and followed by a succulent bacon sandwich in the morning - it's given us both the perfect excuse to stay here again if we're ever down in Swindon.

The service was attentive, nothing was ever too much to ask for and we were even gifted with a bit of Operatic serenading on our departure - I would highly recommend this guest house, it's by far the best I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Address: Thornhill Road, Swindon SN3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Post Office Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Post Office Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.