We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean (check!), Friendly (check!), Location (check!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swandown Hotel

Swandown Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swandown Hotel to your Saves list
Swandown Hotel
36-37 Victoria Road, Swindon SN1 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Swindon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean (check!), Friendly (check!), Location (check!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was only in town for 3 days on business and found the Swandown randomly on the web. What a find! Very pleasant stay with an extremely friendly and helpful staff (i believe the hotel is run by a family). At the end of the day , it's all about the room and that was clean and well looked after. Breakfast is nice and the best part is the location which is within walking distance of the town centre. If you're looking for value for money , this is the place. I've stayed in some dodgy ones over the years as i travel for work a lot and the Swandown is definitely one of the better ones i've come across.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
5
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights.Good value.Clean but basic room.Good breakfast.The owner was very friendly and helpful.Convenient location for town centre and about 15min to 20 min walk to the designer outlet shops.Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Swandown whilst attending a friend's wedding and I can't find any fault with it as a simple, welcoming, convenient place to stay, very close to Swindon. The room was very clean and comfortable. The owners were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. When we forgot to order our taxis they helped sorted this out very quickly. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. If we are ever in the area again, i will certainly be staying at the Swandown and will not hesitate to recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

First impressions as you enter the guesthouse is of the stale fried breakfast smell which unfortunately carried through to the ground floor room we stayed in for one night recently. The room was clean though and we kept the window open to let some fresh air in. The breakfast was fine with friendly and helpful owners and it is in an excellent location being only a five minute walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was one of the Parkhurst Cricket club who used The Swandown for a 4 night stay for our cricket tour of the Swindon area. The service was excellent and the owners couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Very friendly and helpful couple who run a very clean and welcoming hotel. Will definitely return if I'm down that way again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Swandown for 3 nights, used the hotel as a base for touring round the cotswolds. The room was clean, good shower, and breakfast was excellent. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Location was central, within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

a very fine and comfortable hotel to the price, we can recommend this place.
lovely english breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swandown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Hotel

Address: 36-37 Victoria Road, Swindon SN1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Swandown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swandown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.