We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but cramped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabonara

La Cabonara
62 Westcott Pl, Swindon SN1 5HW, England
01793 527944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 324 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food but cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food with massive portion sizes, we had a garlic bread for starter an struggled to finish a main as it was so big!
Staff were very present
But very cramped!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    57
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed used to be my favourite place to eat but won't be going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service has always been the weak point of la carbonara in that it has often either been very slow or over intrusive in my past experiences but the food more than made up for it, however it reached new lows on Friday night. There were staff everywhere but it seems only one particular waiter could take the order. He was rude and kept us waiting almost to the point of getting up and walking out. The only reason I stayed was because of my companions who don't like to make a fuss. When the food arrived I was again disappointed. My tone steak was well cooked but the accompanying sauce to be frank was salty and tasted like bisto. The vegetables accompanying well cooked but exactly the same as I've had previously, no imagination or variation, steamed beans and carrots. The potatoes were supposedly sautéed but I'd argue they'd been deep fried, soggy, greasy and in edible. Dessert was good. 2/10 won't be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llysfaen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Valentines night meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went to restaurant for valentines night with my wife daughter and her partner. We had a lovely meal excellent service . The starters were fantastic ,we all had a different one and all were really good value and well presented. The fillet steak is to die for and my calzone pizza was the best I have ever had . Thank you la carbonara

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy atmosphere and excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited here on a monday lunchtime. The staff were very friendly and the whole atmosphere made you feel like you were at home. The food was prompt and very tasty. All looked home cooked with real veg and pancetta and not the manufactured stuff you find in the chain Italians. The garlic bread with cheese is fantastic as was the pasta we tried. We will definitely go again and recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited on A Saturday night, which we knew was going to be busy, but the staff were as ever prepared for it. The service was good and the food was excellent. Only problem was that we were 3 and one of us ended up sat opposite a wall, which turned into a bit of a joke so no major problem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabonara also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to La Cabonara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabonara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.