We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot Pierre

Le Bistrot Pierre
18 Friargate, Derby DE1 1BX, England
01332 370470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I went here for lunch on Friday 24 January and enjoyed it very much. The fixed price lunch was excellent value and the portions were generous. The braised beef was particularly tasty. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPDerby, General Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Fiona Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    215
    62
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

always a busy and popular place, very vibrant, staff are friendly and helpful, love the atmosphere, food delicious, a favourite place to visit with family and friends. Good value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPDerby, General Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards

Fiona Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

(Last reviewed 21 October 2013) Yet another visit to this excellent restaurant this time for an Early Bird meal offer, two courses for £14.50 which you have to order before 1845, what great value. Went for the Mushrooms and then the Bourguignon, well presented and tasted as good as it looked. Service was spot on as usual, welcomed as soon as we entered the restaurant, shown to a table without delay and staff always give the impression that they really enjoy working here. Give it a try and see what you think.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPDerby, General Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit again with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Fiona Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for lunch on Monday 20 January. The restaurant was busy with a large party as well as a number of smaller groups. We both had a main course and dessert followed by coffee. The speed and standard of service was perfect, neither rushed nor tardy, both friendly and professional. The food was very good our only minor issue was that the coffee could have been a bit warmer. Very pleased with our lunch outing and would recommend to others.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPDerby, General Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We will address the coffee issue and hope to see you again very soon.
Regards

Fiona Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Passable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Everyone raves about this restaurant but I was hugely underwhelmed. The staff were very nice as was the wine. However, the salad I had as a starter was poor as was the steak.

It isn't bad as such but just pretentious and overpriced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPDerby, General Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. If you would like to contact me directly then I would be happy to have some more details so that we can rectify any issues. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Fiona Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Le Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.