We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why haven't I visited this place before?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steliana's and Sapho's Greek Taverna

Steliana's and Sapho's Greek Taverna
115 London Road, Derby DE1 2QS, England
01332 385200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 405 restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Why haven't I visited this place before?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in Derby all my life. I must have driven past this place thousands of times but I've never visited the Greek Taverna before.

Don't just a book by its cover - the outside may look like someone's house but for me, this simply adds to the character.

It was a wet miserable day but as we walked inside, we were transported to a holiday atmosphere. Perfect for a group of friends.

There was 6 of us and we all ordered the mezze. It was a constant stream of little dishes of great tasting Greek food. Plenty of veggie food for me too! The veggie moussaka was gorgeously cheesy! Yum.

Great value and highly recommended. We were there for 3 hours and it flew by.

Its not in a obvious food area of Derby but it is only a 2 min walk from the Westfield centre and 5 min walk from the train station.

It's not a place I'd go for a romantic meal but definitely would go back again with family and friends. It'd be a great place to go for a works night out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    69
    33
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yamas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

GREAT service from the boss, heaps of yummy greek food!! I lived in Greece temporarily so it was nice to get a taste of Greece in Derby of all places! I would definatley recommend - we even had a free shot of orange liqeour for the birthday girl! - We could'nt believe the great value when the bill came over either!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a brilliant evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the minute we walked into the restaurant, the service was brilliant - they couldn't do enough for us.
We had the Meze for 5 - wonderful food, served at the right pace and a great selection.

Wine was good and the ambience was perfect.

All in all an excellent evening.

For all those girls out there who check these things - the toilets were extremely clean.

We have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Like stepping into Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautiful Greek restaurant in central Derby. For those of us who spend much of our summer holidays sitting in tavernas in Greece/Greek Islands a couple of hours in this restaurant transport you back to the sights, sounds, smells and tastes of those idyllic times. The menu contains all the customary appetizers, main courses and desserts and the food was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Wine served in a jug/carafe evokes memories of Greek meals far away! Atmosphere in the restaurant was very pleasant with Greek/Cypriot posters on the walls and Greek piped music playing in the background.Service was excellent. Only 2 criticisms really...firstly it was quite expensive £96 for 3 people. And secondly, try and choose a busy time to book your table or when there is live entertainment. We went at 7.30 on a Thursday evening and there were only 2-3 tables used at any time so it was very quiet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I had a short stay in Derby and stumbled across this lovely restaurant. We had a 1st class meal consisting of hot feta starters, with kleftiko for myself and stifado for my wife. Very tasty indeed,well looked after by Andreas,our host.Will def visit again when in Derby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steliana's and Sapho's Greek Taverna also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Steliana's and Sapho's Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steliana's and Sapho's Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.