We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ebi Sushi Restaurant

Ebi Sushi Restaurant
59 Abbey Street, Derby DE22 3SJ, England
01332 265656
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 405 restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Excellent Japanese restaurant, don't be put off by the outside. Very good food and helpful staff. Sushi was very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    65
    17
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Arigato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arigato for the beautiful food we had at the restaurant last week. I love Japanese food, and never would get bored of it.
Even on a Wednesday the restaurant is full, luckily we had booked a table. The Japanese staff was very friendly and explained every dish we got. The fish and other ingredients are very fresh, prices are very normal and we certainly would recommend this restaurant.
Service was perfect, Sake was brought first and then one by one the dishes.
There is a blackboard with specialities, but they haven't explained what was on it, and we couldn't understand it because it was all in Japanese. But we certainly will go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“so good you have to book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The most authentic restaurant iv ever been to. Quality fresh ingredients, amazing service, great prices. highly reccomended

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived a little early and the staff were friendly enough (mostly japanese).
They were quick to bring us the hot sake we ordered, but we ended up waiting a long time for for our food. The group next to us who arrived at the same time was served 2 courses before we got our food. When I mentioned that we were still waiting they said they were busy. However that doesn't explain the other group getting served 2 courses in that time.

The sushi itself was excellent. I normally eat at quality sushi bars in London, and this held up well against them.
The tuna belly (toro) was not the best I've had, but was still excellent. Yellow tail was also delicious.

They could do with adding some special rolls to the menu, something like the rainbow rolls and the like that you get at other places.

Overall I had a great experience and would recommend this place to anyone looking for good sushi. Far superior to Moon Sha just down the road.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you like japanese this is your place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very small and very busy, so booking is advisable. Menu is not huge but the quality of the food is excellent.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebi Sushi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ebi Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ebi Sushi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.