We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian House Hotel to your Saves list
The Georgian House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32-36 Ashbourne Road, Derby DE22 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Armagh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Character!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as i had a Business meeting near Derby. From the front, the Hotel looks like any other old Public House on the Roadside. There is a Car Park at the rear which is easy to navigate. There is a small garden to the rear of the Hotel and a large conservatory type structure (for the smokers amongst us!). Inside, the Hotel is full of character with old wooden pannelling, stone paving, old world floor tiles and antiques on the walls and shelves. The staircase is also impressive as it appears to be the existing stair access to the rooms on the first floor. My Room was a single room and had a decent comfortable bed and was ensuite. Loo was clean and adequate. Work space was good. I had a Street facing room and traffic noise could be an issue if that annoys you. Breakfast was very good, cereals, Juice and a hot cooked breakfast cooked to order. I would probably come back as I thought it good value.

Room Tip: Street facing Rooms will experience some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
22
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had to go through pub where we stood around unsure what to do and no one helped but once we did get to reception staff were really friendly and welcoming.
Room was a great surprise as it was small but had a four poster and bags of character! Wood panelling everywhere. I loved it because of the quirkiness but like a previous poster realise it's not everyone's cup of tea.
The drains gurgled like crazy and I thought the breakfast was expensive for what we got but the atmosphere and way the hotel made you feel like you had stepped back in time and therefore made you forget the outside world was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Upon arrival, it was clear that the Georgian House Hotel were understaffed. I booked to come here the day before my graduation but when we got there they had booked us in on the wrong days and blamed us for their mistake! The woman asked me who i spoke to on the phone when i booked it, so i said Claire, and she said that it couldn't have been Claire because she was Claire and she had been off for a few months. Then when i told her what price we had been quoted on the phone, she admitted that it was her that i spoke to on the phone. Then she told us that we would still have to pay for the four nights stay even though we weren't staying there anymore!! I refused to pay as it was their mistake, and then she said "well now it's going to be coming out of Ray's wages"!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The building is getting on for 300 years old. There's lots of lovely dark wood panelling (not all original) pictures are in heavy, ornate frames. The architecture in the breakfast room alone kept me occupied for two hour-long breakfasts. Then there's there fact that there's a pub with it's own micro-brewery downstairs - the beer is actually very good too. The food in the tavern is wholesome and plentiful, but not haute cuisine. The plumbing and windows are of course a bit quirky, you need the two eiderdowns, but I love it and will always ask here first when I'm in Derby. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It's not expensive either! Staff are friendly. Someone's split something on the carpet in my room which now needs replacing, but generally - e.g. linen and bathroom, it's very well kept, considering the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are troubled by road noise, as the windows don't seal well. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

the room was dusty, and lacked thought, no beaker in toothbrush holder, around the shower and taps were dirty, a cup was cracked,coat hangers were few, and most were broken. The staff behaved as if they were doing community service,I did not see one smile. My husband who is 74yrs old had to carry our case up, there was no offer of help. the hotel seems to run on a very short shoe string, but must be making a profit one night there was a birthday party booked in, and the next day there was a wedding.
On a brighter note the food was great, and well worth the money, the chef on the morning of our leaving seemed to be doing everything, but still had a smile the first and only one I saw during our stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here one night.The staff were friendly and the bar lively ( and lots of real ales ) . The building itself is quite beautiful if a little tired in places.Out roon was fully wood panelled witha four poster bed.Not huge but adequate and the quirkiness made up for that. Plumbing was a bit ancient and to be honest, if you're a light sleeper , don't gey a room that faces the road.This old building is not going to have double glaxzing and the road gets noisy - I had ear plugs.
I didn't even know the place was haunted untill I returned home but I did have a very strange nights sleep in room 1, with something banging the corner of the bed ( or so it seemed ?) so that it vibrated, causing me to sit upright several times... spooky in hindsight.
The Breakfast was lovely and rates reasonable, so in my opinion it was worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I read previous reviews and thought some of them a bit picky. I remember walking past this hotel on my way to school when part of it was still a private house. Check in was prompt and easy. Family room more of a suite 12,year old thrilled with his own private hutch! Price very reasonable. I had trouble booking on line, rang, and they matched on line price, very friendly chap took booking.room was clean. Shower unit looked new. We loved the furniture ! Reminded us of home as we collect antiques.friendly young lady knocked on door 1040 to make sure we awake.good nights sleep for all three of us. A little noise from a do downstairs but hey its a noisy planet! Beds comy and clean .if you like the sterile chain look this aint for you. Its different but really loveable like an ageing aunt.if we need to stay in derby again will will use this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House Hotel

Address: 32-36 Ashbourne Road, Derby DE22 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minute walk from Derby City Centre, this family-run 18th Century Hotel offers plenty of traditional appeal, a highly-regarded tavern and free Wi-Fi and parking.Infused with the atmosphere of a country style Hotel, this grade II listed building retains much of its original olde-worlde charm. Comfy sofas, wood panelling and open log-fires help to set the mood, whilst the friendly service and welcoming ambience ensures an enjoyable and relaxing stay for all guests.Each of the 17 en-suite guestrooms has been individually decorated and furnished in a style reflective of the building’s historic character. Rooms can be found on both the ground and first floor of the main building as well as within the adjoining cottage. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, TV and complimentary tea & coffee making facilities. Single, Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those special occasions they also offer luxurious four poster rooms.The open fires and elegant surroundings of the restaurant make for an ideal place to enjoy delicious homemade food and delightfully fine wines. The Hotel is also home to Mr Grundy’s Tavern. Located on the famous ‘Derby Mile’ it is renowned for its dazzling array of real ales and is featured in the CAMRA ‘Good Beer Guide’. It also has one of the largest beer gardens in Derby, perfect for either a great night out or a lazy afternoon in the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.