We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Derby South

Premier Inn Derby South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Derby South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Derby South
Foresters Leisure Park | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

FANTASTIC....Have just returned from a two night stay. The room was spotless the service was second to none, the staff were very inviting and welcoming nothing was a problem for them.Will DEFINITLY will be returning AGAIN & AGAIN..10/10

Room Tip: ROOM 21 family room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
28
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Polite and friendly staff who you felt knew their job. Excellent room. Quiet, convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Having been a lone female traveller I would avidly recommend Derby south. The staff bent over backwards to make my stay as enjoyable as possible and were super friendly. Its in a good location just outside of Derby centre and is very easy to find. I would stay for value for money this was a very welcomed break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We booked this Premier Inn on the £29/night offer, as a base for a short break in the Peak District. It was easy to find, as it's just off the ring road to the south of Derby.
There was plenty of free parking when we arrived, despite the hotel apparently being fully booked. We got a very warm welcome from the receptionist and she arranged a reservation in the attached restaurant that evening.
The room itself was a pleasant surprise; spacious, with an enormous bed and an immaculate good-size bathroom which had clearly been recently renovated. As usual, the room was spotless.
We were a little concerned to begin with about traffic noise, as our room backed on to the busy ring road mentioned earlier. However, with the window closed you couldn't hear a thing outside! This really was impressive; it was pretty much soundproof. However, the room did get very hot, a problem which the hotel are obviously aware of as a small fan was provided in the room. It had limited effect and made too much noise. The temperature of the room was just about the only problem we encountered during our stay.
In the morning we could hear room doors closing but it was not really a issue.
The food in the adjoining restaurant was good. It's not The Fat Duck but it's reasonably priced and there will always be something to appeal to all tastes. As usual, we didn't try the breakfast.
In summary, many many plus points; the friendly staff, the generous room and bathroom size, the parking and the handy restaurant. The only issue was the room temperature.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Don't be fooled by the Premier Inn adverts on the TV, this hotel is old and in need of a complete refurbishement. I checked out after looking at several of the gloomy rooms, I thought places like this were a thing of the past. For an exta £10 you can get a room in the brand new Hampton (Hilton) in Derby City Centre overlooking the river. I will never book a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is the second time w have styed at the Oast House, we use as a base for Alton Towers. Staff fab, food fab, value for money is the best!!! We were accommodated at every request. Thankl you team at Oust House you made a mundane trip very much a pleasure!!!

The only constructive comment was the room was very hot no air circulation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Visited Derby for Chess competition with my son.
As a treat thought we would have a night away, rather then travel up on the day.
Stayed here, and was so delighted with welcome from lady on reception our one night stay felt like a holiday.
Plenty of car parking, right next to cinema, bowling alley, bingo hall so plenty of activities next door in the evening, if you do not feel like going to the pub which is part of the inn. Beer was good and friendly welcome to children.
Breakfast in the morning I thought was good, thou pricey.
Only real down was that the so called childrens beds in the family room, looked like a pure after thought to the room, and were meer matress on the floor type beds which personally I would not have expected a dog to sleep on. Please put proper beds in for children as children make families.
On saying that I would fully recommend stopping here, as it was clean, and welcoming and right amongst entertainment facilities for things to do in the evening.
Also it has the friendliest receptionist I have ever met.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Derby South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby South

Address: Foresters Leisure Park | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby South Premier Inn is situated less than 2 miles away from Derby City Centre and is located on Forrester's leisure park which has Cinema, Bowling alley and Bingo facilities. It is an ideal location for families looking to spend time in the Derby area for visiting the local heritage sites or for going to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Derby South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Derby South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.