We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in a week's round robin trop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Derby East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Derby East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Derby East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanier Way | Wyvern Business Park, Derby DE21 6BF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £49
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best stay in a week's round robin trop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Broke a journey from London to Blackpool by stopping overnight at this restaurant. Got stuck for 2 hours on M1 just outside London so had to delay the restaurant booking more than once. Telephone staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. having left London just after 4 we finally arrived at 9 and the book in was extremely efficient.
The Restaurant is on-site and part of the premier inn, not an attached Brewers Fare sort of establishment and it was fantastic. Staff were very, very efficient. Food was surprisingly good - better than prior or subsequent stays at other Premier Inns, and very good value. The area was quiet, even though it was just off a dual carriageway, and very easy to find - the signage could be seen from the main road.
All in all I could not fault the location, facilities or the staff and the restaurant - although small - was top notch for an in-house facility. Best stopover of the week by far and although I'm unlikely to be anyweher near Derby again, if I do havce to make a mid-trip stopover somewhere I would be tempted to go out of the way a little to stay at this particular Premier Inn again rather than gamble on another one more en-route as the other four establishments we stayed at during this week ( 2 x Premier Inn, 2 x Travelodge (never again!!!) were nowhere near as good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    152
    39
    24
    15
See reviews for
138
90
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stopped for just the one night, on a stopover between Scotland and London The hotel is relatively convenient to the M1 (20 min drive) , and the hotel itself is well signposted once you find the business park. Generous parking on site , friendly and welcoming staff, restaurant is small but breakfast was very good. The room was a standard Premier Inn layout, clean and comfortable, downside was that the room was quite warm, with no air conditioning in the rooms, though a fan was provided. - that said, it was exceptionally good value for the £29 paid (booking in advance via the website)

Room Tip: Book in advance on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Arrived for two night stay to save money against exorbitantly overpriced Alton towers hotels. Car parking was easy and secure. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The room had all you need and was clean also. Dinner was ok in the hotel and breakfast was excellent.
Only down side was the room was a little warm with 3 sleeping in it.
Overall very good although I've never got the Premier inn £29 price ever - would be interested to know if anyone has.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Premier Inn Derby East is a little difficult to find but once there you will find an efficient reception team who book you in and out quickly and who are very helpful and professional. When we stayed the car park was very full and when we left in the morning people were searching for spaces. Our room was clean and spacious - very comfortable to stay in - and ideal for an overnight stay prior to a surprise treat for our 2 children to nearby Alton Towers, about 30 mins away from the hotel. The Premier Inn was certainly a much cheaper option than staying at Alton Towers itself at the bargain price of £29 for the night we stayed. The only downside to our stay was the very slow service we found in the restaurant. Although the staff were really nice and pleasant we waited nearly an hour for food. The restaurant was busy but staff seemed to not be serving customers and spent more time cleaning tables and hovering apparently oblivious to hungry customers. Our starters sat on the counter for over 5 minutes despite staff not doing much apart from hovering and they seemed unaware that the food was ready - I must admit to being tempted to going over and getting them myself as my very tired and hungry 6 year old was in dire need of sustenance! The food when we finally got it was well-cooked and plentiful and it was a shame that the service was so slow that it put us off taking up the good breakfast offer as we wanted to get to Alton Towers before mid-day. I would definitely stay here again if I ever needed to use a hotel in the Derby area.

Room Tip: Plan your trip around the best price deal if you can - we saved £30 on cost by staying prior to trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife stayed here with our 10 month old daughter. We found the restaurant was brilliant, serving a great variety of meals. Our evening meal and our breakfast were both good value and tasted great. The room was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was a good place to stay with a baby. I would definitely stay here again. Stayed in quite a few Premier Inns across the country and found them to be a decent standard but this exceeded all our expectations.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Arrived at a very clean hotel the car park was busy, the Staff were helpful and friendly, we were advised on the facilities e.g breakfast but not felt pressured into to booking, the hotel was busy, I believe full but it was quiet and you would not know it was full. The room was clean all the beds ready on our arrival, plenty of towels and a very clean spacious bathroom. A quiet room and when the window was open only a little traffic noise. We enjoyed the breakfast a couple of mornings and realised what a bargin it was, with every adult a child ate for free, there was a full range of continental & full english breakfast available, all you can eat, the staff were very friendly and kept the buffet well stocked at all times. All in all a lovely hotel visit with allow us to enjoy a relaxing visit to Derby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

It is fair to say that consistency in some ways is what you get with a Premier Inn - rooms, beds and bathrooms are always to a standard perfectly matched to the price paid.

Where they can let you down is the on-site provider of meals which can range from a breakfast in a bag left outside the door through the pub across the car park up to the proper restaurant and I am pleased to say that it is the latter here. From the times experiencing all of these there seems to be a much higher level of service and food quality whenever it is Premier people rather than pub staff.

Comments made previously about the car park should be taken into account. If you do find yourself without a space you will be on the other side of the car park barrier.

In summary, one of the best of their kind - and my preference is generally for the quirky b&b - so if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Derby at this price level go for it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Derby East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby East

Address: Stanier Way | Wyvern Business Park, Derby DE21 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Derby East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Derby East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.