We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel to your Saves list
International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   288 Burton Rd, Derby DE23 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at International Hotel and we have no complaints at all. We arrived around midnight and were greeted by friendly staff. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the facilities in the room were more than suitable for a standard room. We had breakfast one of the mornings. It was delicious, plenty options and the staff again were very friendly.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    55
    39
    25
    43
See reviews for
27
58
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cockermouth uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A pleasant room with a great view. Welcoming, helpful and friendly reception staff.
There was quite a loud hum from (I gather) kitchen fans that went on moderately late in the evening.. slightly intrusive in the room, but they were certainly off before sleep time, and then all was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Although a budget Hotel it represents very good value for money.

Normally I would complain about the décor and the state of the decorations but not this time due to the extreme value for money.
Friendly, helpful staff. A nice cooked breakfast.
All in all a place to stay for a short visit.
If we need too we will stay there again.
A very good value budget Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covent Garden, London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a couple of nights here as part of a theatre company tour and found the room spotless and the staff, especially Joyce, excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
All enquiries were answered with a smile and an attitude that suggested nothing would faze them.

And breakfast was lovely too. The porridge was, according to my colleagues, a joy to eat and the hot breakfast I can certainly confirm was filling and well cooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have just started work at Rolls Royce Derby and doing my usual hotel testing run before finding one for long term. I stayed at one night this week and found it is very good. The staff members are superb specially Joyce , Christine and the reception staff. The place is very clean and inviting

Joyce was very welcoming and showed me to my room which was on top floor. Unfortunately I don't like staying in high rise hotels for fear of fire. This being a former school the corridors are so narrow and I had difficulty finding my room 3902 as signposting are bit confusing. But the room was immaculately clean and bed was very comfortable, The tvs was flat screen with 100+ channels . Whats more there was a desk where you can work. I am a high pressure shower man and hate drip drip showers in some hotels . So I was pleasantly surprised to see the power shower on top floor(just like our powerful RR engines) . The room was cold at midnight because the heating had tured odff . I hope it wont be the case in mid-winter

I am surprised one reader says that Breakfast was a hit and miss. It was superb,. There were fruits, cereal , bacon and egg etc etc etc and the hard girl who served us all alone was smiling and courteous . Since I don't drink I don't know how good bar service but my colleagues at work have told me that they serve excellent food

The hotel was the great start for my day. I think £40 for B & B in a superior room is well worth and I recommend this to any contractor. the besty thing in this hotel is the cheery and helpful staff . If I get a room on ground floor or first I would certainly go back there and might take up residence long term too

Overall I recommend this as a good budget hotel for all contracting people who stay away from home during the week

Room Tip: Go for a room on lower floor and on the back where yiu don't et traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My new husband and myself had our wedding reception in the Darley and Denby rooms at the International Hotel on the 14/09/2013.

The room was set up the night before to give us access for flowers and favours that evening/the morning on the wedding. Which took pressure of on the day for my husband and his family who had the horrible task of setting everything up before the big moment.

On arrival after the wedding, we checked in and went up to see the room (118) a newly refurbished suite. The rooms was large with tv, sofa, chair, bed and a lovely bathroom.

After taking 10 minutes out for a drink we went down to the basement function rooms to see the venue. The bar was stocked and staffed (no optics?) but otherwise all ready.

The party planner on site was soon to advise us that one of the chefs had walked out and not turned up for his shift, leaving just one chef to organise a hot buffet for 110 people and cover the restaurant upstairs, this being said the food was fantastic, hot and enough to not only feed everyone once but enough for people to go back and get seconds when they wanted.

We had a few dietary recruitments to cover and they did this with little fuss and everyone was left full. Which is a plus for a wedding.

The following morning the room had been cleaned down and the flowers and cake made ready in a separate room for us to easily take out, without the fuss of worrying about the room.

Everyone who stayed had breakfast together, this was a mixture of hot and continental breakfast with fresh toast, coffee and tea brought to you at your table. My husband got to meet the chef who saved the day who was pleasant and made time to say hello even though he must have been very busy.

All in all the day was fantastic, the staff friendly and polite and the rooms clean, fresh and comfy.

No complaints from any of our guests who spent the night.

I will look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: 118 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Close to city centre, room 117 and newly refurbished so was very pleasant, staff helpful. Breakfast a bit hit and miss but what we had was good.Good for over night stay for some local shopping and some great bars in city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 288 Burton Rd, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.