We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel to your Saves list
International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   288 Burton Rd, Derby DE23 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and was suprised how nice the interior and restaurant was. The staff were all very polite and professional. I would throroughlyu reccommend this hotel if vising Derby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    36
    24
    41
See reviews for
26
54
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now and have always found this to be clean and reasonable, had room service and the food has always been good quality. Able to leave car in car park and catch a taxi in to town centre, no more than £5 which is cheaper than paying for parking all day, i would recommend this hotel, single woman business traveller

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time out to review the International Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we pride ourselves very highly in the cleanliness of our facilities and therefore providing our guests with a pleasant stay.

If you require anything further in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife, myself and three other couples stayed at the International for New Years Eve having booked the New Years Eve celebration package.
On arrival we were promptly dealt with and even given the same rooms we had when we previously stayed here for the New Years Eve event two years previously. The room was comfortable and adequate and a very nice complimentary bottle of Champagne was in the room to welcome us.
The New Years event was a great night, an excellent live singer (unfortunately can't remember his name but I think he is a regular at the hotel), the food was first class and of real quality and presentation, and the specific table requests of our friends that booked it were catered for.
In the morning the breakfast was superb and as good as I have had in any hotel, and all of the staff we met very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for taking the time out to write about your experiences during your stay with us on New Years Eve.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the event aswell as your stay in the Hotel. I will pass this on to all members of staff that were involved in organising the event.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked the New Year package for a party of 8 and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the dinner was excellent and so was the party that followed. Breakfast was as good if not better than in the majority of 4/5 star hotels that I've stayed in. I would certainly come again and I especially would like to thank Christine for all her help in making it a brilliant stay for us all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for taking the time out to write about your experience at the International Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your New Years Eve party and stay at the Hotel. I will pass this on to all staff involved in organising the event.

I hope to welcome you back again for the same event this year. In the meantime if there is anything else we can assist you with then please do not hesitate to contact the Sales Team.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ok, so it's becoming a habit sending in our review team to hotels to check them for all our followers and website partners. We followed this up online from a mixed review on Trip-Advisor and can say we are shocked to find most of the reviews are from the what seems to be the past.

This hotel is certainly one we would recommend for a short stay and we must stress that is has had some and is currently undergoing a renovation to improve it further. (If our room was anything to go by is going to be a nice 3* hotel) Suitable and welcoming for business users and families alike.

We checked into the hotel in the late afternoon and were given one of the 'New' rooms with a key card instead of a key despite not requesting a new room as we are aware not the whole hotel has been completed yet. The room was modern and very cozy although lacks character and individuality and maybe a few throw pillows and some bed colour.

The room was a little cold when we got there maybe put the heating on ready for the guest and close the windows...?
The rooms need hairdryers as there seems to be none which is slightly disappointing and it only has two ironing boards so it's a case of wait and see if you can get one which is a little bit disappointing to say the least.

The pictures on the website are different from the rooms however they are all done to the same standard from what we hear which is an improvement and we did like our room!

The Hotel also has it's own restaurant and bar in which you can taste somebar food and chef's specials for around £8.00pp and 3 course meals for £14 or just have a drink in the lounge if you want. We didn't eat at the hotel as we'd ate before however did get a few drinks. We didn't think it was the cheapest hotel we have been to but what hotel is cheap for drinks these days? Not an issue.

The reception staff were smart and very friendly which was good to see and the reception area very clean, The bar staff were prompt and friendly which made the evening a fun one with the service being great. There was also FREE WIFI available in the entire hotel but we didn't use it it's just good to see for business users alike.

The hotel isn't that far from the city center although it looks like it's miles to walk it's only ten/fifteen minutes away from the main shopping center Westfield!
It has it's own car-park which is looking very tired but not the worst carpark we have ever seen! From what we were told the parking is secure, private and monitored regularly by reception and I also saw one guy cleaning it which is good news!! There are also good transport links and taxi affiliation for the city so getting around is fantastic!

Overall we would recommend this hotel for people who need links to Derby in a convenient location close to Derby Royal Hospital and the City Center. This hotel fits the needs of business users.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room on booking. Call up direct to get a better deal... Ask to match online prices as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel at 2pm to be told we had suites offsite just at the side of the Hotel, i thought sounds promising,what a shock they weren't ready to say the were dated was an understatment we all thought we were in a 1970's film,the suites lol were dirty in disrepair as soon as we saw them we decided this was not the place for us,we found other accomadation nearer to the centre,we went back to see if they cleaned them up ant better well i must have high standards and these suites lol were no better also the outside lighting was broken we couldnt even see to open the door, went to reception to say we were checking out as the rooms were terrible also we had asked for two twin rooms we got a room with 1 double bed and 1 single ? this is classed as a twin? as you can read i would not recommend a stay here you would be waiting for someone to jump out of the shower,

Room Tip: not at this hotel dont be fooled by the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your feedback.

I am very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay at the International Hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not happy with the rooms provided. These suites are actually a lot larger then the ones within the main hotel and as there were two of you sharing the room we thought they would be better suited. Our reservations manager always takes extra care when allocating rooms to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout there stay with us.

In regards to the housekeeping issues I will of course ensure this gets addressed but our team is very efficient in keeping with the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene.

Once again I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your individual expectations.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Myself my wife and daughter stayed at the international hotel recently for two nights, we were staying in derby for my mothers funeral . The staff at this hotel were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast were the best I've ever had in a hotel , our room was modern with plenty of space and had everything we needed. They made a sad time very enjoyable. When ever I need to stay in derby again I will booking this hotel and recommending it to my friends. The hotel was being refurbished while we were there but this never interfered with our stay. Well done international

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to offer my sincere condolences for your loss.

I am glad to hear that despite the sad time you must be going through you enjoyed your stay at the International Hotel. As you rightly pointed out we are undergoing some refurbishment to the hotel and our aim is to do this without any disruption to our guests.

If there is anyway we can accommodate you in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 288 Burton Rd, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.