We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food slow service ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Pub

The Greyhound Pub
75-76 Friar Gate, Derby DE1 1FN, England
01332 344155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food slow service ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to the greyhound in derby a few times before and every time we seam to have the same problem, the service and drinks are great and a lovely atmosphere but the food takes a lot longer than it should to arrive, it took out food an hour and 15 mins to arrive and we only had ham egg and chips, I understand it's all cooked fresh but it doesn't take that long which then mean I was late back to work from my lunch, overall if your not in a rush a lovely pub it's just a shame you can't go in for a quick lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby_Brewing, Owner at The Greyhound Pub, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our range of drinks, service and atmosphere at The Hound but are sorry you did not have an overall positive experience on your visit. Thanks for your valued feedback, it’s important for us to continue to improve and avoid these issues in the future, we have looked into your experience, as we always want customers to have a great time when visiting our venues.

All our food is made fresh which at busy times can sometimes lead to longer waits than we would like, clearly you waited far too long on this visit. We have been working hard to reduce wait times but could I suggest a pre order by calling the pub before hand on 01332 344155 a member of the team would be happy to take your order and have your lunch ready for you on arrival, if you have a limited lunch hour but would still like to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A revived pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This used to be a rather seedy, tired pub; the only redeeming feature being the live heavy rock music. Several years back it was purchased and transformed by the Derby Brewing Co. It is now a really good traditional pub serving excellent beer and food, particularly the gourmet beefburger. Highly recommended for informal, and faily cheap, eating out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not go to this pub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went here with my partner on Valentines Day 2014. She had booked a week before so the first disappointment was when we told the staff member we had a reservation they said they couldnt find it.

We were shown to a dirty table behind a large structuaral post (not the best seat for a couple)

The pub was not over busy I could not see anyone else eating. I ordered a bottle of wine (was out of stock) so ordered another which was a tad overpriced but was a quality wine. Selected our food and was told to pay up front cash for what we were about to order (£40.35)

We ordered a starter which came 45 mins later the waiter put it on the table and walked off (he put a plate of rocket lettuce on the table with grated cheese on the top!!)

No cutlery or individual plates.........

When the mains came after 1hour 10 mins my steak came RARE asked for well done !! and the chips were disgusting soaking in oil (due to being fried at low temperature !!)

The staff were all students who hadnt got a clue how to take an order...... the final straw came when one of the kitchen staff (cook) came past out table wearing a filthy blood stained top he dident look like he had seen any soap or water in his life.

Before you ask why dident I complain at the time I could see no one who would have been half interested in listening.

Keep away from this place its disgusting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Sales And Marketing Exec at The Greyhound Pub, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We're exceptionally sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the standard of food and service, I have discussed this with the management to ensure this does not happen again so we do once again sincerely apologise for the experience you had. We'd love to have you back at The Greyhound in the future, if you'd like to contact the manager he'd be more than happy to discuss this and hopefully rectify the situation properly on 01332 344155

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we do hope you'll revisit us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
“Very good Greyhound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Greyhound Pub is part of the Derby Brewing Company empire along with the Brewery Tap and the Queens Head serving real ales and a good selection of lager/beer. The selection of food is very good, presented very well and tastes great. Staff are very good, attentive and friendly but sometimes a little eager to clear tables. Unlike the Queens Head the Greyhound still offers the Wine Rack which is a great way to try different wines and is such great value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a decent pub serving decent real ale and a good variety of lager (Peretti is a must). The food is good but the wait can often be upwards of an hour. Try quiz night on Monday evening.

This is my local within 2 minutes walk of my "work digs" and the team come her regularly.

I would suggest getting the loyalty card as this can save you significantly on food and drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Greyhound Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.