We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than just OK !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OK Diner

OK Diner
A38 Southbound, Derby DE65 6GY, England
01283 704 800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“more than just OK !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is not fine dining but it is a great diner. The staff were very friendly ,the service was great ,the tables were clean and the food as described in the menu. It is a grill and does not pretend to be any thing else. i had an excellent all day breakfast and my wife had the vegetarian breakfast. We even had free newspapers to read and free drink top ups. Well worth making this this your food break.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“food ok,services varies, not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Ive been twice now on the first occasion a young guy served me he was fast polite & helpful.
the food did take a while to arrive but was worth the wait.
drinks tend to be very expensive ,food is reasonable in cost.
the second visit an young lady served us who was slow and seemed unhappy in the role.

Great decor they really make an effort.

Try the Malt shakes ,kids eat free which is a great offer.

give the place a try

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“american diner? you have to be kidding!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

on arrival we stood in a queue of us three - staff looked at us as though we were aliens....eventually one young lad (they have older people at the local creche) appeared looked us up and down, grabbed two menus and turned his back on us....I suggested to my wife we should follow - I wish we hadn't......he provided our grand daughter with some paper and grubby pencils...and disappeared - we didn't get asked if we wanted drinks.....I suggested after a short time we should get out and go for a chinese or curry - but our grand daughter wanted to stay!! - some time later our friendly chap came back with some good advice - the lager was over priced I should say so - 2.65 for 275ml of carlsberg - but there was little option even though the cokes at 10p more were refillable.,....anyway we went for food so - here's some info on the food - it was awful.....and to think its 8.25 for a 6 oz burger - you can buy 2 packs of aberdeen angus burgers at the local co op 2 mins away for £4 and they taste oh so much better - the fries were made from what exactly.....yes the food was barely edible.....but that didn't phase our man!! - he smiled as he juggled plastic ketchup bottles!! But the biggest insult to mans intelligence is - at the card machine you have to click the right button before entering a pin number or you end up giving them a tip !! - well I have a tip - find one of the senior managers and give him a disguise and see if he likes what he / she sees.......if you want a good meal - catch a bus to ecclesall road in sheffield and try Yankees, thats american or the mudcrab diner opposite thats a real treat!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nomtastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Love love love this place!!
This place always seems busy, the staff are friendly enough, the atmosphere and music is great and the food is excellent!!
We was told when we arrived that there would be a 45 minute wait but by the time we had ordered our drink and decided on our food it didn't seem to take that long.
I highly recommend the caramel swirl milkshake its just simply amazing!!
Its just a shame they have taken off the menu the cheesy chips

Also we got 15% off with our loyalty card, cant be bad!
Cant wait for our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Impressive for a theme restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good menu, indifferent service, reasonable price for the goodly portions, and as fair an approximation of actual American food as you can find in the UK. The buffalo wings are particularly worth trying.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OK Diner also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Colsterworth, Grantham
 

Been to OK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OK Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.