We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior

The Excelsior
6-8 Becket Street, Derby, England
01332-29-15-20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 413 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a Sunday afternoon, the staff are extremely friendly and the food is second to none on the all you can eat Sunday lunch, there is a good choice and there is something for everyone, for Chinese only this is the best place in Derby!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    20
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have read really good reviews on this restaurant and decided to take my mum for Mothers day. We went for the "All you can buffet" for £15.90 each, which you order from a menu and they bring it freshly made to your table. The food was plentiful and tasted amazing. Staff are very friendly. Highly recommended...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Still my favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I eat out regularly all around the uk and I still enjoy this food the best. We always receive a warm welcome and experience great service. You won't find a better deal than the fixed price menu (which is not on on a Friday or Saturday night). it could do with a general update on the decor front but it is clean and relaxing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for value and great food .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful all you can eat, lovely flavours. Will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant on Becket Street, wasn't sure what to expect. Good find, all you can eat for 15.90. Friendly staff, good choice, all made fresh and you order off a menu. Every single dish tasted amazing, one of the best meals I've had in ages. The quality of the food was really good, the ribs starters were so juicy. Will definitely come back and introduce our friends

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Chinese like I remember from the 70s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

friendly fast service, brilliant 'traditional'* Chinese food
*all the old favourites plus some interesting twists all served piping hot. Easy to put together a really nice choice

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Excelsior also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.