We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed place, good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme Restaurant and Bar

Thyme Restaurant and Bar
288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Take time out to experience fine dining at the Thyme Restaurant, providing comfortable seating, a friendly atmosphere and high quality dishes from our new a La Carte menu which changes every few months.Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and Champagne Breakfasts on request, enjoy seasonal recipes including Crayfish Tails and Smoked Salmon, Duck Two-ways or choose from our tempting desserts... such as our sumptuous Chilled Strawberry Souffle or sticky toffee pudding.If you want to simply sit & unwind, you can enjoy a beverage and light snacks in our Drinks & Coffee Lounge Bar area too.Thyme Restaurant also offer exclusive room rates to diners wanting to stop the night in the hotel. Find out more on the International Hotel page.“The food WAS lovely and fresh and well presented. Lovely place to eat in.. give it a go!”
Nottingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed place, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The restaurant has a nice relaxed atmosphere... not the usual 'hotel restaurant' atmosphere or food. The food WAS lovely and fresh and well presented. Lovely place to eat in.. give it a go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent service, Excellent food, great value.

nice restaurant layout, staff were very friendly and efficient throughout the night. the food was beautiful and tasted even better. I will certainly be re visiting.

10/10, Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great groupon meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we walked in the service was fantastic, the food was brilliant and the atmosphere was calm. We felt very relaxed and were given plenty of time to look over the menu. The scallops and the pigeon were great for starters followed by the trio of lamb and duck for mains which were delicious. The only complaint would be the wine is very dry and not very pleasant for my taste. The coffee was good for filter coffee too. Would recommend this groupon deal as the service was second to none.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food on a Groupon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for a family meal on a voucher and was very pleased. For the price I thought it was excellent value, the pigeon starter was flavoursome and well presented, and the duck whilst slightly fatty and oversalted more than filled me up. Service was prompt and friendly, and the restaurant warm and cosy. Would definitely go again (on a voucher).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good with voucher deal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First lets make it clear we would not have chosen this without a voucher deal, but midweek and discounted made for a good evening.
My soup starter was tasty and my partners boars cheese was good too, duck was good but a little tough, duo of pork for my good lady left her a bit unhappy with the amount of fat on the belly pork but the Parma ham wrapped pork was a lot better.
It should be noted the waiter worked very hard and was very polite and keen to please.
The place looks tired and didn't do enough to make us want to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Thyme Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.