We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like recption was renovated but the rest left in history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Inns Derby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Inns Derby to your Saves list
Metro Inns Derby
Macklin Street, Derby DE1 1LF, England (Formerly The Heritage Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seems like recption was renovated but the rest left in history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for my graduation recently and wasn't that impressed it would seem its meant to have been recently renovated, if this is the case then they seem to have left out renovating the rooms and have only done the reception/bar area.

Pros:
Location
Reception staff pleasant
Free wifi

Cons:
Room only had one mains socket
Desk collapsed on me
Toasters constantly broke at breakfast
Not enough tables for all guests at breakfast
Very early checkout time
Rude manager
Uncomfortable bed
Only 3 pillows for a double bed
Old style TV with only 3 channels
Noisy (you can here everyone in the rooms around you and outside)

Would I stay here again, No. The Stuart is around the same price and a much nicer hotel with better car parking facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    39
    36
    72
See reviews for
14
40
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

stayed here recently, booked as just needed a budget hotel for stop over and thats what i got.
It was basically one of the cheapest on a website selling rooms but when i arrived found out the free parking wasnt free as car park closed for repairs so unexpected expense in having to store car in multi storey over night .....
On arrival found the staff very pleasant and helpful and soon arrived at my room, had booked a single as travelling alone. Opened door to a tired 70's style room in dire need off refurb, Windows are the old cast iron single glazed type with added secondary glazing which wasnt fully effective as centre panel was missing but due to good size radiator room still warm.
Holes in walls needed filling , Tv remote control didnt work neither. Bathroom was tiny and very dated with cracked tiles. shower cubicle was very small, i am a big guy 6ft 2 and nearly as broad lol and my shoulders nearly spanned the whole cubicle and shower curtain constantly sticking to me due to space.
Breakfast simple but plentiful with endless amounts of coffee or tea if needed all self service .
have rated it 2 out of 5 , 1 for the breakfast and 1 for the helpful staff.
stayed oct 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good things about this hotel: very central location, very cheap, decoration and cleanliness fine. Really nice helpful and friendly staff.

However, the main problem with this hotel is the noise. I stayed Saturday and Sunday night, on the 5th floor. On Saturday night they had a party in the basement of the hotel until after 1am. . You could hear the thumping music on the 5th floor! My friends were on the 4th floor, it sounded as if it was just outside their room. I complained to the staff, and they said they have parties there every Friday and Saturday night. It is unacceptable to run a hotel where noise affects the entire hotel every week.

Additionally, in the single room I was staying in, the small shower cubicle did not drain at all and water flooded the bathroom. I got moved rooms, and the staff were lovely and helpful. But again, this is not an acceptable standard.

The TVs do not work properly: they are not tuned in and there are only 3 channels.

Other than this the rooms were fine and clean. They are still refurbishing the hotel, so hopefully any problems with rooms will be sorted soon. However, until they sort out the noise, it is not reasonable to expect to pay with a party heard throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as you can, but in a refurbished room - most have been refurbished: even half of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After reading all of the negative reviews we just had to see why this hotel had such a bad reputation and we couldn't see it.

We booked in for just one night with the location of the hotel perfect for shopping and clubbing alike being just on the edge of the Cathedral Quarter and being an event's and hire company the location was surprising, This hidden hotel is literally a 3 minute walk from the pubs and bars but far enough away that you don't hear any of the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are basic, not much going on inside however if you just want to get your head down it's a great little hotel despite having a large number of rooms. The receptionists are helpful in what we needed to find (Even though we knew Derby like the back of our hand we had to test the staff who knew their stuff!) Sadly we missed breakfast because we are not really morning food people.

The facilities and room were clean, Lacking a little character but nothing that dramatically impacts on the stay and it's perfect for a shopper or a clubbing group/individual wanting to stay close to the city center and entertainment! This hotel has it's own bar too which is cosy and warm although a little thin on the ground for atmosphere.

Geared Up Events, Great stay- Highly Reccomended

Room Tip: On a weekend somewhere high up is great, the views from the hotel are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

stayed one night for a days shopping hotel ok only gripe was we paid ten pounds extra for an executive suite but it was very dissapointing very basic and was supposed to have been recently refubished bit didnt give that impression had a large tv 42 inch but only had anologue channels 3 in all bathroom clean but very small and a lot of street noise but good location and nice continental breakfast

Room Tip: be careful when out at night as a few unsavoury youths about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night , the reception is quite nice, the room we stayed in was quite basic , but if all u want is a bed to sleep in after a night in town then this is ideal, we found it quite noisy until early hours, location is good as just a short walk from the bars etc! So if u want a cheap, clean bed for a few nights for hitting the pubs then this would be ideal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena R, Front Office Manager at Metro Inns Derby, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

As you correctly pointed, hotel is very close to all the bars and pubs therefore some noise is unavoidable.
However, I hope you enjoyed your stay and will visit Metro Inns again if you back to Derby.

Kind Regards,
Elena Raudoniute
Front Office Manager
Metro Inns, Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here one night just as a base to have a weekend in Derby. It was one of the cheapest of town central hotels and it was good value. Very basic as we expected but clean. Though not without a couple of little narks..firstly the bed wasnt the comfiest and along with the noise of the clubs till 3 it was hard to get off to sleep, but was fine once we did. Also the tv was very small although thats not really a necessity. But the service was good and good parking even though the actual hotel car park was not in use. Over all for the price it was a decent, clean if basic place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena R, Front Office Manager at Metro Inns Derby, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Sinclair6605,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found the hotel to offer value for money and enjoyed its superb location.

Hotel's car park is closed till January 2013 to improve the exterior of the hotel, however NCP car park is a great alternative for only £4.00 for 24 hours and it is only a minute away from hotel.

I do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Elena Raudoniute
Front Office Manager
Metro Inns, Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Inns Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Derby

Address: Macklin Street, Derby DE1 1LF, England (Formerly The Heritage Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre accommodation for the money conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Metro Inns Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Inns Derby Hotel Derby
Heritage Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Inns Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.